

Friends of the University of Adelaide Library

Patron: The Hon Christopher Legoe QC AO President: Mr Ron Layton Secretary: Mr Paul Wilkins Barr Smith Library, The University of Adelaide, SA 5005 AUSTRALIA Telephone: +61 8 8313 6356 Facsimile: +61 8 8313 4369 Email: friends_library@adelaide.edu.au

The Friends of The University of Adelaide Library Terms of Reference

Background

The Friends of The University of Adelaide Library is a Network of alumni within and forming part of The University of Adelaide. The network, generally referred to as the Friends of the Library, was established in 2002 following the groundswell of support for the Library in the response to the first Barr Smith Library Annual Appeal.

Mission Statement

To raise awareness of the Library among alumni and the wider community and to support the development and maintenance of special, unique and rare collection items and to help preserve the heritage status of the Barr Smith Library.

Objectives

The Friends of the University of Adelaide Library Network exists to;

- advocate for, promote and foster interest in and support for the Library and its development,
- raise funds for the Library, particularly the development and maintenance of special, unique and rare collection items and the heritage status of the Barr Smith Library,
- increase knowledge of the collections and services of the Library and its role in research, scholarship and community information,
- develop relationships with other libraries, cultural organizations and appropriate commercial organizations for the benefit of members, and
- work with other Networks to benefit alumni of the University of Adelaide.

Activities

To meet its objectives the Network will;

- a) host an annual program of events including events with the Library, other Networks, university bodies, libraries and community organisations,
- b) inform members and the wider community of key University Library developments and projects,
- c) support and promote selected fund raising initiatives of the Library particularly the annual Library Appeal,
- d) encourage participation of alumni, especially students, and the wider community in Network and Library events, and
- e) arrange member benefits.

Membership

Membership of the Network is available to;

- a) graduates of the university,
- b) current students of the university,
- c) past and present staff members of the University, and
- d) other persons who have an interest in the objectives of the Network.

Governance

- a) The Network Committee consists of:
 - 1) Up to ten (10) members elected at the Annual General Meeting;

Four (4) officers

President

Secretary

Assistant Secretary

Treasurer, and

up to six (6) ordinary members

- 2) University Librarian or nominee ex officio
- 3) Immediate Past President ex officio
- 4) Alumni Relations Officer ex officio
- b) Quorum Five (5) members of the Committee, one of which must be the President or Secretary;
- c) Terms of tenure;
 - 1) President Two (2) years, plus two (2) years renewable by the Committee,
 - 2) Other Committee Members Two (2) years, renewable by election,
 - 3) Any officer or ordinary committee member who is absent from three (3) meetings without apology will vacate their position.
- d) The Annual General Meeting, including the election of Committee members and standard reports, is held no later than the end of May each year;
- e) Network activities and financial processes align with the calendar year;
- f) Affairs of the Network are administered by the Committee;
- g) The Committee uses standard meeting procedure;
- h) The Committee may appoint any Network member to fill a casual vacancy;
- i) The Committee may co-opt any individual for a specific, short-term task.

Responsibilities of Committee Members

- a) Work collaboratively for the mutual benefit of the Friends and the University of Adelaide Library,
- b) Ensure the objectives of the Friends are met,
- c) Attend Committee meetings, events and other activities as agreed by the Committee, and
- d) Participate in subcommittees and working groups as agreed by the Committee.

Patron

The Committee may appoint a Network Patron.

Contact - Lisa Taplin, Manager Alumni Relations

Telephone: +61 8 8313 0019