Helpdesk Request Form
Course Merge: Important Information
What is a course merge?
A course merge merges multiple MyUni courses into a single course, such that students from all of the courses being merged can access content in the one course.
When multiple courses are merged, the course content for the new merged course is copied from one nominated 'source course'.
Please read the following points regarding the content of the new merged course:
Once the merged course has been created, before making the course available to students, you will need to check the course content in regard to the following points:
* All course content material that is visible in the source course will be visible to students enrolled in the new course. This will include any solutions to tutorials and assignments that may have been posted. If this is a concern, you will need to delete or make unavailable this content.
* Announcements will be copied across but the date information will be reset to the date of the course merge. The result will be that all announcements will appear to users. You will need to update the properties (the dates when they are displayed) of the announcements or delete them altogether.
* Discussion boards will be copied, but the name of the poster and the message body for each post will not be copied. As such you will need to clear the discussion boards, and make any changes to the threads/topics ready for your students. To clear the discussion forums of these threads go into the forum, click on "Show Options" then "Select All" then "Delete". You will need to do this for all forums.
* Groups, responses to assessments and gradebook entries for users will not be copied. The assessment categories will be copied into the gradebook. If you would like a copy of the gradebook entries from the source course that can then be uploaded to the merged course, please contact the Helpdesk for MyUni.
* Staff Information will not be copied. This is a known issue, and we are working with Blackboard to find a solution.