## Governance

Advisory/Management Committees



## INDIGENOUS EDUCATION AND ENGAGEMENT COMMITTEE

## **Establishment** When: September 2009 By what authority: Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic) For what period: 2 years **Role/Terms of Reference** Nature: Terms of Reference: In 2009 the Vice-Chancellor approved a recommendation from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Working Group for the establishment of an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander advisory committee. Formerly known as the Aboriginal Education: Wilto Yerlo Committee the Indigenous Educational Strategies and Community Engagement Committee will: 1. Provide advice to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic) and the Dean, Wilto Yerlo, on strategic engagement and education strategies; 2. Provide oversight and assist in the promotion of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education in the University. Reporting line: Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Vice-President (Academic) Quorum: The quorum for all Committees is half of the full membership plus one unless stated otherwise. Procedures prescribed/determined By itself itself: Frequency of meetings: 6 weeks - Bi-monthly List of any sub-committees: Nil Membership

Nil

2 years

Any categories prescribed:

Term of Office:

Attendance

**Professor Lester-Irabinna Rigney**, Convener, Dean, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education, DVC(A)

**Professor Deborah Turnbull**, Chair of Psychology

Associate Professor Veronica Arbon, Director, Wirltu Yarlu

Associate Professor Emmanuel Chanda, School of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences

**Associate Professor Eileen Scott**, Deputy Head of School, School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, Faculty of Sciences

**Dr Nina Maadad**, Lecturer, School of Education, Faculty of the Professions

**Dr Rob Amery**, Head of Discipline of Linguistics, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

**Mr Alwin Chong**, Director, Yaitya Purruna, Faculty of Health Sciences

**Ms Colleen Lewig**, Manager, Counselling and Disability Services

**Ms Louise Mitchell**, Indigenous Outreach Officer, Office for Future Students

Mr Grayson Rotumah, Lecturer, Centre for Aboriginal Studies in Music

**Ms Julie Le Lievre**, Senior Organisational Development Advisory, Human Resources

**Executive Officer:** Ms Kelly Maxwell, Senior Project Officer - Aboriginal Employment & Engagement, Office of DVC(A)

The Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor and President are exofficio members of all Committees of Council and the Vice-Chancellor and President is an ex-officio member of all Committees of the University.

Contact person and phone/email

Ms Kelly Maxwell (Executive Officer)

Kelly.maxwell@adelaide.edu.au

Ph: 8313 4963

**RMO File Number** 

2010/4799, 2012/9657