## Dr Megan Elizabeth Clark AC

Chancellor, it gives me great pleasure to present to you an outstanding candidate for admission to the Honorary Degree of Doctor of University (honoris causa): **Dr Megan Elizabeth Clark AC FAICD FTSE.** 

Across a long and distinguished career, including most recently in her former role as Head of the Australian Space Agency, Dr Clark has been a champion for the power of Science, Technology Engineering and Maths to transform societies, build communities, and chart a brighter future. Today we acknowledge her enormous contribution to scientific research, development, and leadership.

Growing up in Perth just down the road from a CSIRO lab, Megan dreamed of being a scientist. She graduated with a Bachelor of Science Honours degree in Economic Geology from the University of Western Australia in 1981, and continued her studies at Queens University Ontario, completing her Doctorate in Economic Geology in 1987.

As a geologist for Western Mining Corporation, she enjoyed working outdoors and the sense of discovery the job provided. Megan moved from roles in mineral exploration and mine geology to take on positions guiding R&D strategy, venture capital, and technical strategy.

Megan's next move was into the world of finance. She spent time working with a corporate venture fund in Boston and was appointed as a director of N M Rothschild & Sons (Australia). In 2003 the role of vice-president of Technology at BHP Billiton, and later vice-president of Safety, Environment, Community and Sustainability, brought her back to the mining industry.

In 2009 Megan Clark became the first female CEO of the CSIRO, supporting major projects which are now delivering knowledge infrastructure to Australia, including the new Marine National Facility (RV Investigator), the Australian Square Kilometre Array Pathfinder, and the Pawsey Supercomputer, operating from research precincts in Perth, Canberra and Melbourne.

A non-executive director of Rio Tinto since 2014, Megan has played a significant role in leading and developing its sustainability agenda as chair of the Sustainability Committee. She maintained a commitment to sustainability throughout her career at Rio Tinto and later through her membership of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation and the World Economic Forum.

Across her working life, Megan has also maintained active roles in community service, influencing global equality through her roles at the St Vincent's Hospital Foundation, Care Australia, and the Mining for Development Advisory Board for AusAid.

She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, and is a non-executive director for CSL Limited.

Megan's enduring commitment to the importance of STEM is evidenced through her many voluntary membership roles, including the Prime Minister's Science, Industry and Engineering Council; the World Economic Forum, Global Agenda Council on measuring sustainability; the Prime Minister's Task Force on Manufacturing; the Global Research Alliance; and the Australian Research Council Collaborative Grants Committee for engineering and geosciences; among others.

Everyone who joins the Australian Space Agency gets a Space Agent number. Dr Megan Clark is Space Agent One. She became the first Head of the Agency after leading the 2017 government review into Australia's space capabilities and held the position until 2020. She remains the Chair of the Australian Space Agency Advisory Board.

In 2014 Megan Clark was awarded Australia's highest civilian honour – a Companion of the Order of Australia – for her services to scientific research and development.

Today we also acknowledge Dr Clark's contribution – her capacity to nurture innovation, her strategic science leadership, her commitment to sustainable development, and her belief in the key role of STEM in building a better world.

Chancellor, I am pleased to present to you **Dr Megan Elizabeth Clark,** Bachelor of Science (Honours); Doctor of Philosophy; Companion of the Order of Australia; Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy; Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, for admission to the Honorary Degree of Doctor of the University (honoris causa).