You are here: 
text zoom : S | M | L
Printer Friendly Version
Further Enquiries

Adelaide Graduate Centre
Level 6, 115 Grenfell Street
The University of Adelaide
SA 5005

Telephone: +61 8 8313 5882
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 5725

For IBP - R

For Short Courses

For Supervision

The Inaugural Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition Finals (2010)

The Graduate Centre was pleased to offer the inaugural Three Minute Thesis Competition in 2010, an exercise in developing academic and research communication skills.

The event was open to research higher degree (PhD and Masters by Research) students who had just three minutes and one static slide to explain their thesis topic and its significance to an intelligent but non-specialist audience.

The panel of five judges were looking for:

  1. Communication style: was it appropriate for an intelligent, non-specialist audience?
  2. Comprehensibility: did the audience understand the research?
  3. Engagement: was the audience left wanting to know more?

The University of Adelaide competition was run as a series of local school and faculty heats in June/July culminating in ten faculty finalists participating in the University finals at Open Day on August 15th.

Congratulations went to Jacqui Miller for winning the inaugural Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Competition with her research thesis presentation Protein for Premmies.  Jacqui, from the Faculty of Health Sciences, also took out the People’s Choice award and has won a $3,000 grant to be used for travel specific to her doctoral research.

All finalists performed well on the day; each received a $100 bookshop voucher:

Sarah Thompson from the Faculty of Health Sciences
Carly Norman and Chris Button from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Gretel Png and Daniel Searson from the Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Mathematical Sciences
Poulomee Datta and Chelsea Liu from the Faculty of Professions
Ori Henderson-Sapir and Tatiana Costa da Soares from the Faculty of Sciences.

Our winner represented the University at the Inaugural Australia and New Zealand finals hosted by the University of Queensland on September 21 2010. Winners from the 33 Universities participating vied for the overall title and a share of the $8,000 in prizes.

Additional information on the University of Adelaide’s competition

Finals Event Photos