

# Roseworthy Campus

Roseworthy's Main Building

The University of Adelaide and Roseworthy Agricultural College (now Campus) have an association which began officially in 1905 with the formal affiliation of the two institutions. The terms of that affiliation made it possible for the University to exempt students who had passed certain Roseworthy courses from attending lectures and exams in corresponding subjects for the Bachelor of Science. Later, when the University established a Bachelor of Agricultural Science, students were required to spend a full residential year at Roseworthy.

Over succeeding years the College continued to enhance and strengthen its position as an important institution for research and education. Under the directorship of its many eminent principals, it gained national recognition in areas such as the development of superphosphate, cereal plant breeding, animal management and wine education. In 1991 the College formally merged with the University of Adelaide and has since been known as the Roseworthy Campus.

The Campus grounds contain numerous heritage buildings which are living testimony to the significance of Roseworthy and its contribution to the education and careers of local, state, national and international identities across a range of industries including agriculture and viticulture.

120 years after Roseworthy's Main Building was completed, a clock was installed in 2003 as originally planned.



#### Roseworthy map grid reference

#### **Main Building**

Н8

The State heritage listed Main Building was begun early in 1883 to a design by Edward J Woods, Chief Architect from the Department of Public Works. After a six month delay due to extreme wet weather, it was completed in October 1884.

The building is constructed of Tarlee stone and red brick with freestone mouldings and brick quoins and chimneys. It was erected at a cost of \$7,625 and contained accommodation for residential students, originally planned for 100 but reduced to 30 with the intention to add extra accommodation wings at a later stage. There was also a lecture room, dining hall, reading room, staff room and offices. A single storey laboratory addition was added in 1891.

It also includes a clock tower which lacked a clock mechanism for over 120 years. In 2003 a Swiss precision clock that adjusts automatically by a global positioning system connected to Greenwich Mean Time was installed after a donation was made by Mr J H Newland.

# John Ridley Bust

Н8

On the lawn in front of the Main Building stands a bust of John Ridley, a man honoured for the invention of he Ridley Stripper (later developed into the modern-day harvester) which was of fundamental importance to the development of South Australia. The bust was commissioned by the Old Scholars' Association and sculpted by Barsanti if Pisa, Italy.



For more information please contact University Archives on 8303 3407, email archives@adelaide.edu.au or Art & Heritage Collections on 8303 4031, email art.heritage@adelaide.edu.au

Produced by University Archives and Art & Heritage Collections staff and volunteers of the University of Adelaide.





#### Roseworthy map grid reference

# Roseworthy map grid reference

#### Memorial Chapel

J8

The Chapel was constructed in 1955 after a public appeal for funds that began in 1945. A competition was launched for the design of a non-denominational Memorial Chapel to commemorate students who served and died on active duty during the Boer War and the two World Wars. Dean W Berry and Gilbert were the winning architects.

The walls are constructed of Mallee limestone, the roof is red terracotta. Originally it was to be larger but due to increased costs the overall length was reduced which is evident externally by a temporary wall at the eastern end. Above the Chapel entrance is a Waikerie limestone sculpture by John Dowie AO depicting a young warrior discarding his uniform in readiness to return to the land. The organ was donated by Mrs R J Rudall in memory of her late son Jake, a College student who was killed on active service in New Guinea in December 1942.

Time Capsule The large stone adjacent to the outside wall of the Chapel marks the 1976 burial spot of a time capsule containing information pertaining to the College for that year and is to be opened in 2026. The project was initiated by Principal D.W. Williams.

## Tassie Library H8

The Tassie Memorial Library was built in 1920 using funds donated by the family of John Tassie, a former student of the College who died while on active service during World War I.

In 1946 the Lowrie Wing was added when the widow of the College's second Principal, William Lowrie donated funds for its extension. It continued to be used as the College Library until the opening of a new building in 1973.

#### Corridor Block D8

The single storey building was erected in 1906 as the College's second student accommodation building. It was extensively renovated in 1982. It is no longer used as a residence but has been converted to offices.

#### Krause Walk G8

Rex Krause was Plant Breeder, Senior Lecturer in Agriculture and Vice-Principal from 1944 to 1974. He was breeder of the wheat variety named 'Halberd'.

# Leske Building G7

The single storey brick building was constructed in 1970 and upgraded in 2006 for the relocation of the School of Agriculture and Wine and to accommodate postgraduate students. Its principal uses are computing suites and offices. The building is named after Ken B Leske, former Senior Lecturer in Farm Management and Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture from 1948 to 1985.

Spafford Walk F7

Walter J Spafford made significant contributions to the disciplines of Plant Breeding and Agronomy from 1904 to 1913.

#### J S Davies Building

F6

The single storey building was constructed in 1967 as the Hickinbotham Laboratories. It was upgraded in 2001 when the laboratories were extended and renamed the J.S. Davies Building to create accommodation for the Livestock Systems Alliance between the University, SARDI, PPPI, PIRSA and TAFE for research and teaching in Animal Science. The building is named after John Stanley Davies, a significant benefactor of the University who bequeathed the majority of his estate valued at approximately \$2,000,000 for research directed to the improvement of quality in animals, especially cattle.

#### Thistlethwayte Walk

Н8

Dr Barrie Thistlethwayte was Director of the College from 1981 to 1990 and made a significant contribution to its development and management.

### Williams Building F7

A successful bid by the College in 1978 resulted in funds being provided by the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission for a new building to provide facilities for the teaching of applied sciences and natural resource sciences. The single storey new Natural Resources Building was opened in 1979 and later renamed the Williams Building after Principal Dr Don B Williams who was in office from 1974 to 1981. It contains a lecture theatre, tutorial rooms, laboratory and office space.

#### Eastick Building F7

The two storey brick building was commissioned in 1991 and accommodates the Campus Library, video conference theatre and offices. The stained glass window bearing the RAC coat of arms mounted in the foyer display case was transferred from the Tassie Memorial Library.

The building is named after the Hon Bruce C Eastick, a graduate of the College and former member of the RAC Council.