Skip to content

Making Your Website Live

To make the changes appear on the Internet, you need to upload the page to the live production server.

Uploads can be done either using WebAccess or within the TMS system (see below). Please note that it is important to fully check the page BEFORE uploading to the live site as once the page is uploaded it is visible to the outside world.

  • First Time Upload – New Site or Template

    If you have been working on a new site (either brand new site or upgrade to the new template), please note that the first upload must be done by the Web Team.

    Pre-Go Live Check

    Before any new site goes live for the first time, the Web Team must conduct a thorough pre-go live check. We check for:

    • Broken links (including webdev links)
    • Image descriptions
    • Broken patterns
    • Any accessibility issues
    • Whether we can recommend more effective display options

Upload Using TMS

When you are happy with your changes and you have clicked Preview and Save Changes, the page is now saved on webdev, the development server. You can now upload using TMS:

  • Single Page Upload

    The simplest way to upload a page is to click on the upload link in the top blue editing box at the bottom of the page you have just edited.

    This will display a message asking you confirm the upload. By clicking OK, this will upload only the displayed page to the live website.

    Alternatively, click on the files link in the top blue editing box at the bottom of the page to display the files for the current folder. One of the options available alongside each file in the folder is the upload option. Clicking on the upload link alongside a file will also upload that file/page to the live website.

    Note: remember to also upload any documents that are linked to on the page (e.g. upload both the page and the document) otherwise the links will appear broken.

  • Folder/Directory Upload

    Clicking on the upload dir option will upload all of the files in the current folder, including the content page, menu for the current page and the breadcrumb. Therefore, before clicking upload dir, please ensure that all files in the relevant folder are ready to go live (e.g. no out-of-date documents, unfinished pages etc.).

    upload directory

  • Site Upload

    It is possible to upload all of the files in a site to make the website live in one step. At the top of the files view page is an option to submit a site request (see below). This allows you to select an option from the drop-down list which are the same as those in WebAccess. Among these are the options to Upload Site Files and to Upload Site and Sub-sites.

    Upload Site Files: uploads all files in the current site that have changed since the last upload from the development server to the live server, synchronising the development and live sites.

    Upload Site and Sub-sites: uploads all files in the current site and its sub-sites that have changed since the last upload from the development server to the live server, synchronising the development and live sites.

    When either of these requests is submitted, the job is queued to run automatically on the server within two minutes. You will then receive an email from 'Web Services' confirming your upload.

Upload Using WebAccess

WebAccess provides a number of tools for University of Adelaide web maintainers. Depending on your access rights and settings for your website, WebAccess enables you to view site information, manage user access to your site, create a CD of your site and upload files from the development server to the live site.

The advantage of using WebAccess is that it allows you access to tools that you may need to maintain your site without having to even log in to the development server.

WebAccess can be found at the following URL: https://webdev.adelaide.edu.au/webaccess.

You will be required to log-in using your LDAP user ID and password. WebAccess uses the log-in information to determine the sites that a user has permission to work on. Log in details are shown at the top right hand corner of the window on all pages within the site.

Selecting a Site and Viewing Site Information

After logging in, if you only have access to edit one website, your site information will be displayed on screen. If you have access to more than one site, select the appropriate site from the list of sites to which you have access.

Information available from this page includes: the physical path of the site on the web servers, the virtual host under which the site is located and the URLs for the development and production versions of the site.

When you can see the site information page above, the navigation menu on the left-hand side of the page expands to allow you to perform additional operations on your site.

Upload

There are several ways in which you can upload using WebAccess. Some of these ways are batch operations that will upload all changed files at once. This is useful if you are the only person working on the site and you know that only the pages you have been working on have changed. However, if a number of people work on your site, you must take care not to submit a batch upload when other people have changes that they are not ready to upload to the live site.

To avoid problems with uploading pages that are not ready to be viewed in the live site, it is safest to use Site Files to upload if you are not sure which pages have changed. This allows you to ensure that only the appropriate files are uploaded to the live server.

  • Choosing Files to Upload

    Select Site Files from the navigation menu on the left-hand side of the screen. This will show you a list of all modified files within your site. By default, the list will show you the most recently modified files first.

    Any files shown with the modification date and time shown in red have changed since the last site upload. One or more of these files may be uploaded to the live site.

    If you do not want to upload all of the listed files, select the individual files to be uploaded by placing a check in the box next to the relevant files. When all of the files to be uploaded have been ticked, click on the option to Upload Selected. The selected files will then be uploaded to the live production server.

    If all of the files shown in red are ready to be uploaded to the live production server, then the best option is to click the Upload Modified button. This performs the same operation as the request to upload site files, but has the added advantage that you are aware which files are being uploaded.

  • Upload All Site Files

    From the Submit a New Request drop-down list on the site information page, select the option to Upload Site files (see below). This will upload all files that have changed since the last time a batch upload was run for the selected site.

    submit a request drop-down list

    The live production site will then be brought into line with the version of the website on the development site. This function operates on all files within the currently selected site, but ignores subsites within the site.

    If you did want to upload your site and all of its subsites, click on the Upload site and subsites option from the drop-down list. This function will upload any changed files within the currently selected site and all of its subsites.

 

Web Team

Call us: For urgent requests or to speak with someone directly,
please contact one of our team members.
 
Not sure how to do something? Take a look at our FAQs.