Adelaidean - News from the University of Adelaide The University of Adelaide Australia
September 2009 Issue
Current issue (PDF) | Archive | Editorial Contact

Alumni awards


The achievements of graduates past and present have been recognised in the latest round of awards from Development and Alumni at the University of Adelaide.

Distinguished Alumni Awards

Awarded annually, the Distinguished Alumni Awards recognise alumni who have enhanced the reputation of the University of Adelaide and have given outstanding service to the community or made an outstanding contribution in their chosen fields.

The 2009 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are:

Dr Barbara Rosemary Hardy AO
(BSc 1947) - in recognition of her lifelong commitment and significant contribution to the advancement of Science Education, Science Awareness and Environmental Conservation.

Dr Hardy has worked tirelessly to highlight the need for focus on the environment and science education. She has served in various capacities in support of conservation and environmental education, including: Commissioner of the Australian Heritage Commission; President of the National Parks Foundation of South Australia (now the Nature Foundation SA); and Chairman of the South Australian Landcare Committee. She has been a vocal advocate for solar and sustainable energy and is a Companion of the Institution of Engineers Australia, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Energy.

Mr John Laurence Menadue AO
(BEc (Hons) 1957, BEc 1956) - in recognition of his significant and lifelong contribution to Australian Society as a Public Servant, Diplomat, Critical Thinker, Board Director, Advisor and Public Commentator.

Mr Menadue has had a distinguished career both in the private sector and in the Public Service. His past positions include: General Manager, News Limited, publisher of The Australian; Head of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, working for Prime Ministers Whitlam and Fraser; Australian Ambassador to Japan; Head, Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs; Head, Department of Trade; CEO of Qantas; a Director of Telstra; and a Director of the NSW State Rail Authority.

His awards include the Japanese Imperial Award, The Grand Cordon of the Order of the Sacred Treasure.

Mr Menadue has maintained his connection with the University of Adelaide through being a lifelong supporter of Lincoln College.

Dr Rex John Lipman AO
(BDS 1951) - in recognition of his significant contribution and leadership over many years in the area of Dentistry, Business, Diplomacy and Education and his lifelong commitment to the Adelaide University Regiment.

The awards were presented at the August graduation ceremonies in Bonython Hall, with the exception of Dr Lipman, who was due to receive his award at the Alumni Gala Dinner on Friday 4 September.

Honours Alumni Medal

George Forrest Young
(BE (Mechatronic) 2007, BMa & CompSc 2007, BMaSc (Hons) 2008)

George graduated with an Honours degree of Bachelor of Mathematical Sciences. He achieved High Distinctions in all his courses with only one exception. His ability was further evidenced in his Honours year where he topped the year, his lowest mark being 95 out of a maximum of 100.

George produced an exceptional Honours project entitled Random Fibonacci Sequences supervised by Dr Alison Wolff. This project was considered outstanding by the two expert examiners, awarding it a mark of 95 and 96 respectively out of a maximum of 100.

Postgraduate Alumni University Medal

Dr Nam Q Nguyen
(MBBS 1997, PhD 2008)
Having previously graduated with a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery with First Class Honours in 1997 (he was Dux of the Year), Dr Nguyen graduated again in December last year with a PhD in Medicine.

His PhD was entitled: The inter-relationship between disordered gastric motility and enteral nutrition in critically ill patients. He was supervised by Professor Michael Horowitz, Associate Professor Richard Holloway and Professor Robert Fraser.

Dr Nguyen won a total of 12 awards during this time, including an NHMRC Postgraduate Medical Research Scholarship and the 2008 Clinical and Research Cancer Institute Fellowship Award at the Garvan Medical Research Institute in Sydney.

Bookmark and Share

Dr Barbara Hardy AO and family

Dr Barbara Hardy AO and family
Full Image (69.55K)

Mr John Menadue AO with family and friends

Mr John Menadue AO with family and friends
Full Image (80.8K)

Dr Nam Nguyen and family

Dr Nam Nguyen and family
Full Image (87.33K)

Media Contact:

Media Office
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814

For more news on the research and educational achievements of the University & our alumni read the University's bi-annual magazine, Lumen.