Adelaidean - News from the University of Adelaide The University of Adelaide Australia
July 2005 Issue
Current issue (PDF) | Archive | Editorial Contact

Queen's Birthday Honours

Members of the University of Adelaide community have been recognised for their contribution and impact on society in the recent Queen's Birthday Honour's list. Recipients include:

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the General Division

Professor Barrie Vernon-Roberts (Staff)
for service to medicine as a researcher, educator and administrator, particularly in the areas of disorders of the bones and joints and pathology of the spine.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division

Dr Donald Golinger (MBBS 1955)
for service to medicine, particularly through the introduction of training programs in dental surgery and the establishment of multi-disciplinary assessment and treatment services for breast disease.

Mr Clive W. Kitchin (LLB [Hons] 1983)
for service to the community through the Royal Flying Doctor Service and the administration of health services for people in rural and remote areas, and to the legal system.

Ms Mary L. Morris (M Env St 1992)
for service to conservation and the environment, particularly in the field of environmental practices, and through the advancement of a multi-disciplinary approach to managing environmental change.

Dr Morris J. Peacock (MBBS 1965)
for service to thoracic medicine, particularly as a pioneer of innovative surgical techniques and as an educator.

Dr Ross Sweet (MBBS 1964)
for service to medicine in the fields of obstetrics and gynaecology, to professional associations and health related organisations, and to the community.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division

Dr Ronald B. Davey (MBBS 1955)
for service to medicine, particularly through contributions to the development of services relating to treating paediatric burns victims in South Australia.

Dr Margaret M. Hogan (MBBS 1988)
for service to the community through a range of literary, historical, health and charitable organisations.

Mr Valdek Kangur (B Tech 1971)
for service to the Estonian community in Australia through preservation of culture and language and contributions to church, school and youth groups.

Ms Jill Lambert (Former Staff - Radio Adelaide)
for service to the Zimbabwean community in Australia by providing employment and support services through the organisation, Zimbabwe Connection.

Mrs Elisabeth L. M McIntyre (PhD [Med] 2000)
for service to the community as a lactation consultant and counsellor, and through the development and delivery of information and education courses on breastfeeding.

Mr Cedric B. Wells (M Ag Sc 1959)
for service to the ageing as President of Cottage Homes Inc, and to the community through ex-Service, military history and religious organisations.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Colin W. Johnson (B EC [Hons] 1987)
for outstanding public service through his significant contribution to the economic reconstruction of a number of neighbouring nations and, in particular, as leader of the Regional Assistance Mission to the Solomon islands Budget Stabilisation Team.

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact:

Media Office
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814

For more news on the research and educational achievements of the University & our alumni read the University's bi-annual magazine, Lumen.