Alumni News

Search news stories

Enter a keyword to search news.

Dr Phiala Shanahan

Phiala Shanahan

South Australia Woman of the Year 2023 winner and recipient of the James McWha Rising Star Award 2022, Professor Phiala Shanahan has made a significant contribution to physics, as the youngest Professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) at the age of 27. She has become a leader in theoretical physics and is a passionate educator.

[Read more about Dr Phiala Shanahan]

Alumni receptions around the world

Sydney Alumni Reception 2022

Our alumni are valued members of our University community. Collectively, they are also an incredible resource, a unique global community who help us make meaningful connections with local prospective students, industry, governments and communities.

[Read more about Alumni receptions around the world]

Tuition fee discount for postgrad study enables lifelong learning

Julie Ross-Spooner

It's never too late to pursue your dreams. And, in Julie Ross-Spooner's case, you're never 'too old' to attend university. The former teacher attended the University of Adelaide to study in her seventies and just graduated with a Bachelor of Languages (French) with First Class Honours. 

[Read more about Tuition fee discount for postgrad study enables lifelong learning]

Two outstanding alumni awarded 2023 John Monash Scholarships

Henry Marshall Monash Scholar

The University of Adelaide wishes to congratulate and commend two alumni who have been recognised in the nation’s most prestigious postgraduate awards, the 2023 General Sir John Monash Scholars

[Read more about Two outstanding alumni awarded 2023 John Monash Scholarships]

Professor John McNeil AO

Professor John McNeil AO

Recipient of Distinguished Alumni Award 2022, Professor John McNeil AO is a tenured public health researcher specialising in epidemiology and clinical pharmacology. His contributions to medical research have changed how we think about chronic disease, preventative health and healthcare quality.

[Read more about Professor John McNeil AO]

David Reynolds PSM

David Reynolds PSM

Recipient of Distinguished Alumni Award 2022, David Reynolds PSM has dedicated his career to South Australia’s prosperity and wellbeing. For the Chief Executive of the Department for Trade and Investment, it is a line of work underpinned by a sense of community.

[Read more about David Reynolds PSM]

Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM

Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM

Recipient of Distinguished Alumni Award 2022, Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM, is a staunch advocate for preventing illness and promoting health across the whole of community. A dual qualified medical specialist, public health physician and paediatrician, Professor Spurrier was instrumental in South Australia’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic as the state’s Chief Public Health Officer.

[Read more about Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM]

Dr Angela Alder-Price

Dr Angela Alder-Price

Recipient of the James McWha Rising Star Award 2022, Dr Angela Alder-Price is an orthopaedic researcher, senior lecturer and the only female upper-limb surgeon in South Australia. Her dual pursuit of surgery and science is driven by a passion for improving patient outcomes.

[Read more about Dr Angela Alder-Price]

Tiahni Adamson

Tiahni Adamson

Recipient of the Tirkapena Indigenous Award 2022, Tiahni Adamson, a Torres Strait Islander woman descended from the Kauareg Nations of Thursday Island, is a passionate wildlife conservation biologist. Ms Adamson is focused on sustainable aquaculture production as the Lead Community Engagement Officer at CH4Global.

[Read more about Tiahni Adamson]

Dr Roshanak Amrein

 Dr Roshanak Amrein

Adelaide dental surgeon and University of Adelaide alumna, Dr Roshanak Amrein arrived in Australia from Iran in 1994 with only limited English. The Baha'i community was among the most severely persecuted religious minorities in Iran. She learned English, restudied year 12 and applied to the University of Adelaide Bachelor of Dental Surgery program.

[Read more about Dr Roshanak Amrein]

RSS News Feed