Professor Helen Marshall AM

Helen Marshall

MBBS 1988; M Pub Hlth 2004; M D 2011
Elected Member - Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Helen Marshall is a Professor of Vaccinology in the Adelaide Medical School and Deputy Director, Robinson Research Institute in the University of Adelaide, and Senior Medical Practitioner at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital. As an NHMRC Practitioner Fellow and Medical Director of the Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, she provides major leadership nationally and internationally, in immunisation and infectious diseases research and policy.

She has received the SA Research Excellence in Public Health Award, a SA Excellence in research collaboration award, Association of Australia Fellowship and NHMRC “10 of the best” for 2016. Helen received the Australia Day Award 2020, Inspiring South Australian Women and is a member of the SA Public Health Council. In 2021 she was made a Fellow of the Australian Academy Health and Medical Sciences and was a Finalist for SA Scientist of the Year. She was the 2022 SA Australian of the Year and 2022 SA Woman of the Year. She was named South Australian Scientist of the Year at the 2023 SA Science Awards.

Previously she was a member on the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation which provides advice to the Health Minister, Australian Government and an Advisor to the WHO.