Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni Awards recognise the outstanding contribution and significant impact made by our alumni.

Established in 1991, they are awarded to alumni who have enhanced the reputation of the University through outstanding service to the community or who have made an outstanding contribution in their chosen fields.

The prestigious James McWha Award of Excellence and Tirkapena Indigenous Alumni awards were also presented at this ceremony.

On Friday 24 November 2017, the University of Adelaide recognised the achievements of its most outstanding alumni at the annual Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony.

Congratulations to our 2017 award recipients

  • Dr John Beard

    John Beard

    Dr John Beard

    Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (1979)
    Director of the Department of Ageing and Life Course, World Health Organization (WHO) Geneva, Switzerland.

    In recognition of his dedication to the field of healthy ageing, including guiding many countries on their policy responses to population ageing.

  • John Crosby

    John Crosby

    John Crosby

    Roseworthy Diploma in Agriculture (1971)
    Owner and Managing Director, JR Crosby and MJ Fisher and C&F International Pty Ltd

    In recognition of his advocacy for farmers and the Australian farming industry.

  • Ms Moya Dodd

    Moya DOdd

    Ms Moya Dodd

    Bachelor of Laws (Honours) (1988)
    Partner, Gilbert + Tobin
    Former national football player with the Matildas (1986-1995)
    Member of the Asian Football Confederation’s Executive Committee and the Football Federation Australia Board.

    In recognition of her service to women’s football, as a player and a fierce advocate for change to benefit the sport.

  • Ms Léonie Ebert

    Leonie Ebert

    Ms Léonie Ebert

    Bachelor of Science (1968)
    Founder, The Graham F Smith Peace Foundation

    In recognition of Ms Ebert’s dedication to education, advocacy for women and Aboriginal education, and support of social justice.

  • Mr Simon Hackett

    Simon Hackett

    Mr Simon Hackett

    Bachelor of Science (Mathematical Science) (1987)
    Founder, Internode
    VAF Research and Redflow Ltd

    In recognition of his contribution to advancing the IT industry, including involvement in bringing the internet to Australia in the late ′80s, and through his company Internode, launching Australia’s first ADSL2+ broadband service.

  • Dr Anthony Lake AM

    Anthony Lake

    Dr Anthony Lake AM

    Bachelor of Dental Surgery (1970)
    Dentist and Forensic Odontologist

    In recognition of Dr Lake’s service to the dental industry, including his involvement in Disaster Victim Identification (DVI) for state, national and international incidents.

  • The Hon. Margaret Nyland AM

    Margaret Nyland

    The Hon. Margaret Nyland AM

    Bachelor of Laws (1964)
    Lawyer and former Supreme Court Justice

    In recognition of her service to law, as a lawyer, judge, justice and commissioner, including leading the Royal Commission into child protection in South Australia (2014-2016).

2017 Distinguished Alumni Award Ceremony

Photos from the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award Ceremony.

View photo gallery

2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards Ceremony

Highlights from the 2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards Ceremony.

Find out more

Further information

Previous award winners