Nobel Laureates

Since its establishment in 1874, the University of Adelaide has embraced the ideal of the research university.

One of our founding values was 'a spirit of freedom to investigate new fields' and this remains one of our distinctive features today.

The Nobel Prize is an international annual award for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and peace. With a long history of ground-breaking research and scholarships of international significance, five Nobel Laureates are associated with the University.

  • J Robin Warren

    J. Robin Warren
    John Robin Warren AC was born on 11 June 1937 in Adelaide and studied medicine at the University of Adelaide. He is an Australian pathologist and researcher and is credited with the 1979 re-discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori, together with Barry Marshall. Read more.
  • John M Coetzee

    John M Coetzee
    John Maxwell Coetzee was born in Cape Town, South Africa on 9 February 1940. He attended the University of Cape Town and began writing fiction in 1969. He now lives in Adelaide and holds an honorary position at the University of Adelaide. Read more.
  • Sir Walter Howard Florey

    Walter Howard Florey
    Howard Walter Florey was born on 24 September 1898 in Adelaide and graduated from the University of Adelaide with an M.B. and B.S. in 1921. He was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to Magdalen College, Oxford leading to the degrees of B.Sc. and M.A by 1924. Read more.
  • Sir William Lawrence Bragg

    William Lawrence Bragg
    William Lawrence Bragg, son of William Henry Bragg, was born in Adelaide on 31 March 1890. He studied at the University of Adelaide where he graduated with a first-class honours degree in mathematics in 1908. He arrived in England with his father in 1909 and entered Trinity College, Cambridge as an Allen Scholar, taking first-class honours in the Natural Science Tripos in 1912. Read more.
  • Sir William Henry Bragg

    William Henry Bragg
    William Henry Bragg was born at Westward, Cumberland on 2 July 1862. Elected a minor scholar of Trinity College, Cambridge in 1881, he studied mathematics under the well-known teacher, Dr E J Routh. He studied physics in the Cavendish Laboratory in 1885, and at the end of that year was elected to the Professorship of Mathematics and Physics in the University of Adelaide. Subsequently he became Cavendish Professor of Physics at the University of Leeds (1909-1915), Quain Professor of Physics at University College London (1915-1925), and Fullerian Professor of Chemistry in the Royal Institution. Read more.