

# Thelma Dent Prize for Piano (AMEB)

OFFICE USE ONLY

# Establishment

In 1979 Thelma Everilda May Dent bequeathed a pecuniary legacy of \$1,000 to the University of Adelaide for the purpose of establishing a scholarship at the Australian Music Examinations Board for students of piano.

In 2001, Jean Adelaide Madeline Dent bequeathed a pecuniary legacy of \$20,000 to the University to supplement the Thelma Dent Prize (AMEB).

## Title

1. The prize shall be known as the 'Thelma Dent Prize for Piano (AMEB)'.

#### Value

2. The value of the Prize shall be \$2,700 or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine provided that the value of the prize does not exceed the annual distribution of income available from the Endowment Fund.

#### Eligibility

- 3. To be eligible for the Prize, candidates must have undertaken an eighth grade examination in piano conducted in South Australia by the Australian Music Examinations Board (SA & NT), in the year for which the Prize is awarded.
- 4. Candidates are ineligible if they have provided false or misleading information that has a relationship to the awarding of this Prize.

#### Selection of Candidate

- 5. The prize will be awarded annually based on the results of the candidates' eighth grade examination in piano as determined by the AMEB Examiners. The Prizes Committee will make the final selection based on the candidate deemed most outstanding taking into consideration aptitude, enthusiasm and participation.
- 6. The Prize shall not be awarded more than once to the same person.
- 7. If the Prize is not awarded in any year, then the available income distribution shall be added to the capital sum in the Endowment Fund.

## Administration and Variations

- 8. The Prize will be administered by the Coursework Scholarships and Prizes Office.
- 9. The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University's legal obligations and policies.
- 10. Once the Prize has been withdrawn for that year, it may be re-awarded to the next eligible student at the discretion of the Australian Music Examinations Board and subject to available funding.

Approved:

Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Vice-President (Academic), Professor Jennie Shaw