You are here: 
text zoom : S | M | L
Printer Friendly Version
Further Enquiries

Centre for
Functional Nanomaterials

SA 5005



Dr Christian Doonan (School of Chemistry & Physics) - Director of CAN
High surface area adsorbents constructed from open architectures for the selective capture and conversion of CO2.

Dr Chris Sumby (School of Chemistry & Physics) - Deputy Director of CAN
Design, synthesis and structural investigations of novel porous materials for gas separation and catalysis.

Prof. Mark Biggs (School of Chemical Engineering)
The elucidation of the fundamentals of the structure and properties of nanoporous materials using state-of-the-art computer modelling.

Prof. Jim Hill (School of Mathematical Sciences)
Applied mathematical modeling procedures in nanotechnology, and in scientific areas which to date have been dominated by Chemistry, Physics and Materials Science.

Prof. Shizhang Qiao (School of Chemical Engineering)
Mesoporous materials for protein adsorption and separation

Ass. Prof. Sheng Dai (School of Chemical Engineering)
Nanostructured materials fabrication and applications

Prof. Dusan Losic (School of Chemical Engineering)
Nanoporous materials with unique structural, chemical, catalytic, and optical for molecular separation, sensing/biosensing, drug delivery, catalysis and energy storage/conversion.

Dr Barry Cox (School of Mathematical Sciences)
Applied mathematical modeling procedures in nanotechnology.

A/Prof. Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem (School of Chemistry & Physics)
Glass-based optical fibre nanomaterial fabrication and investigation.

Dr Hugh Harris (School of Chemistry & Physics)
Physical characterization of nanomaterials using advanced spectroscopic techniques.

Dr David Huang (School of Chemistry & Physics)
Theory and computational research to provide an understanding of the assembly of novel porous materials, and the thermodynamics and kinetics of CO2 capture in these materials.

Dr Phillip Kwong (School of Chemical Engineering)
Development of more sustainable environmental and energy technologies with focus on low temperature combustion of hydrocarbons over different nano-structured materials.

Dr Tak Kee (School of Chemistry & Physics)
Physical studies of highly fluorescent conjugated polymer nanoparticles and their applications in solar conversion and fluorescence imaging.

A/Prof. Greg Metha (School of Chemistry & Physics)
Synthesis and exploration of sub-nanometermetallic clusters and nanoparticles for the photo-catalytically driven conversion of CO2 into fuels such as CH4.

Prof. Allan Pring (South Australian Museum, Earth & Environmental Sciences)
Novel materials based on solvothermal dissolution re-precipitation reactions.