The HiTeMP Forum's Organisers

Centre for Energy Technology at the University of Adelaide

Located within the Institute for Mineral and Energy Resources (IMER) - Modern Energy Systems at the University of Adelaide, the Centre for Energy Technology (CET) delivers innovative technologies for sustainable, secure and affordable energy. Our goal is to help accelerate society's transition to carbon neutrality.

We collaborate with leading industry, government agencies and other research organisations, drawing on our research capacity in sustainable power, fuels, networks and minerals.

The CET works with industry to reduce emissions now, by retro-fitting innovative technologies to existing systems, and is also developing new carbon neutral and carbon negative technologies to replace existing heat, power and fuel production systems.

In this way, the CET’s research has an immediate impact on CO2 emissions, while transitioning to sustainable, affordable clean energy solutions.

Information about the extensive range of our research and engagement can be found on the Centre for Energy Technology website.

Gus Nathan

Professor Gus Nathan, Founding Centre Director

Professor Nathan is an ARC Discovery Outstanding Researcher, who specialises in thermal energy engineering in systems supplied by solar, geothermal and the combustion of fossil and bio-fuels. He also works with hydrogen, wind and wave power and his recent work has focused on novel approaches to integrate and optimise these different energy sources.

Professor Nathan has played a leading role in the development of six patented technologies. He was principal leader of the Chief Design Team for the award winning fuel and combustion system for the Sydney Olympic Relay Torch and was co-inventor of the patented combustor that was subsequently also used in the torch and stadium flame for the Athens Games.


HiTeMP-3 Forum Steering Committee

  • Chair: Professor Gus Nathan, Director, Centre for Energy Technology, The University of Adelaide
  • Mr Peter De Neef, Business Developer, Engie
  • Dr Alessio Scarsella, Vice President, Alumina Outotec
  • Ms Lina Hockaday, Senior Engineer, New Technology, MINTEK
  • Mr David Cochrane, Technology Lead, South32
  • Mr John Tsalapatis, Metallurgy Manager, Liberty Primary Steel
  • Dr Ross Haywood, Consultant, Greenroom Engineering Services
  • Ms Ros DeGaris, Director DeGaris Consulting
  • Mr Dominic Zaal, Commercial Strategy Manager, CSIRO Energy
  • Dr Tom Campey, Energy Consultant
  • Professor Ellen Stechel, Arizona State University
  • Professor Christian Sattler, German Aerospace Center, DLR
  • Professor Willy Kracht, University of Chile
  • Professor Behdad Moghtaderi, The University of Newcastle
  • Professor Wojciech Lipinski, Australian National University
  • Associate Professor Simon Smart, The University of Queensland

HiTeMP-3 Forum Organising Committee

  • ChairProfessor Gus Nathan, Director, Centre for Energy Technology, The University of Adelaide
  • Professor Greg Metha, School of Chemistry, The University of Adelaide
  • Professor Maziar Arjomandi, Centre for Energy Technology, The University of Adelaide
  • Dr Alfonso Chinnici, Centre for Energy Technology, The University of Adelaide
  • Dr Woei Saw, Centre for Energy Technology, The University of Adelaide
  • Dr Chris Matthews, Manager, Institute for Mineral and Energy Resources, The University of Adelaide
  • TBC, Government Relations Officer, The University of Adelaide
  • Ms Jennifer Thomas, Administrator, Centre for Energy Technology, The University of Adelaide

Email the Forum organisers