Professor Jason Able

Professor Jason Able
 Position Head, School of Agriculture, Food & Wine
 Org Unit Agricultural Science
 Telephone +61 8 8313 7075
 Mobile +61 4 5984 1586
 Location Floor/Room 1 ,  Building 81 ,   Waite
  • Biography/ Background

    For further information regarding Jason's research, teaching and professional activities, please visit the researcher profile.

  • Qualifications

    BSc (Hons I) (USQ); PhD (UQ - St. Lucia); MAICD

  • Community Engagement

    Jason is actively engaged in communicating to, and educating the public on the benefits associated with genetically modified foods (as well as plant breeding and genetics more generally). Between 2011-2017, Jason was a member of the Gene Technology Technical Advisory Committee (GTTAC) within the Commonwealth Government's Department of Health. Annually, he also conducts a number of communication activities that are affiliated with the University of Adelaide. These activities include newsletter and magazine articles, and radio interviews. Jason has been a panel member for many science forums that have been held in rural/regional South Australia since 2002.

    Jason has presented invited seminars nationally at several institutions including the University of Adelaide; the University of Queensland; the University of Southern Queensland; and La Trobe University. He has also presented keynote seminars internationally in America, Europe, the United Kingdom and India.

    Jason is actively engaged with durum stakeholders across Australia. Key stakeholders include Durum Growers, Southern Australia Durum Growers Association (SADGA), GRDC, SAGIT, San Remo Macaroni Pty Ltd, MAURI anz, Mellco, Glencore and AMPS Agribusiness.

  • Media Expertise

    CategoriesAgriculture & Farming, Science & Technology
    ExpertisePlant genetics; Plant breeding; Genetic engineering; Genetically modified food; Plant biotechnology; Meiosis; Genetics; Wheat; Durum Wheat
    NotesThe Peter Goldacre Medal (2008); UQ SLAFS Annual Research Award (2003); The University Medal (1997); The Faculty of Sciences Medal (1997); Member of the Australian Society Plant Scientists; Recipient of numerous travelling awards including a Farrer Memorial Fellowship and GRDC Fellowship.
    After hours08 8391 2918

The information in this directory is provided to support the academic, administrative and business activities of the University of Adelaide. To facilitate these activities, entries in the University Phone Directory are not limited to University employees. The use of information provided here for any other purpose, including the sending of unsolicited commercial material via email or any other electronic format, is strictly prohibited. The University reserves the right to recover all costs incurred in the event of breach of this policy.

Entry last updated: Tuesday, 10 Jan 2023

To link to this page, please use the following URL: