Skip to content


Sprigg Geobiology Centre researchers have expertise in geobiology, to understand how organisms both alter and evolve in response to the environment and how they control geologic processes and are committed to working with government, industry and the community.

Position Academic Research Interests
Director John Tibby
Deputy Director Cesca McInerney
ARC Future Fellow Lee Arnold
Post Doctoral Research Associate Cameron Barr
Director, Water Research Centre Justin Brookes Water
Joel Brugger
Adjunct Professor David Chittleborough Soil science
Senior Lecturer John Conran
Lecturer Juraq Farkas Biogeochemistry and stable isotope systems of alkaline earth metals
ARC Future Fellow Diego Garcia-Bellido
Jim Gehling
Postdoctoral Fellow Tony Hall Organic geochemistry and expert in analytical equipment
Research Associate Michael Hatch TEM techniques in river environments
Professor of Geophysics Graham Heinson MT mapping expert
Executive Dean, Faculty of Sciences Bob Hill Botany
Visiting Research Fellow David McKirdy
Thais Munoz
Research Fellow Liz Reed Vertebrate taphonomy and site history, Quaternary palaeoclimate and biodiversity, megafauna extinction
Senior Lecturer Frank Reith Geomicrobiology of gold
Mark Rollog
Hossain Siddiqui
Lecturer Jonathan Tyler Climate variability and landscape change
Robyn Williamson
Meridith-Maya Legras Dharmarajah
Position Candidate Research Interest
Research Assistant Jake Andrae
Postgraduate Student Haidee Cadd
PhD Candidate Stefan Caddy-Retilic Detection of environmental change
Postgraduate Student Briony Camberlayne
Postgraduate Student Georgina Falster Geology
Postgraduate Student Julian Greer
Research Associate - PhD Candidate Deborah Haynes
Postgraduate Student Sian Howard
PhD Candidate Christopher Kemp Palynology (Pollen Studies), Optically Stimulated Luminescence Dating (OSL) and Paleoclimatology
Eliza Lockier
Postgraduate Student Rachel Rudd
Myall Tarran
Alex Corrick

Sprigg Geobiology Centre

Napier Building
North Terrace Campus
The University of Adelaide


T: +61 8 8313 5146
F: +61 8 8313 3772