The University of Adelaide is governed by its Council which is established by the University of Adelaide Act 1971.

The University of Adelaide Council:

  • has not less than 12 and not more than 16 members
  • is chaired by the Chancellor
  • is advised by its 6 Standing Committees
  • and Council meetings normally occur eight times per year.

A list of Former Officers of the University is maintained by the University Archives.

Council's principal responsibilities include:

  • appointing the Vice-Chancellor & President as the chief executive officer of the University and monitoring his or her performance
  • approving the mission and strategic direction of the University, as well as the annual budget and business plan
  • overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance
  • establishing policy and procedural principles, consistent with legal requirements and community expectations
  • approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability, including general overview of any entities controlled by the University (within the meaning of section 50AA of the Corporations Act 2001)
  • overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University, including commercial undertakings
  • overseeing and monitoring the academic activities of the University
  • approving significant commercial activities of the University.

The Council must in all matters endeavour to advance the interests of the University.