Special Degrees Committee

Nominations for Honorary Degrees must be made in accordance with the Special Degrees Rules.

All proposals shall be made on the Special Degrees Nomination Form.  Proposals, marked 'private and confidential', should be submitted electronically to the Council Secretary.

A list of past recipients is maintained by the University Archives.


  • Chancellor ex-officio (Chair) - The Hon Catherine Branson AC KC 
  • Deputy Chancellor ex-officio - Mr Kenneth Williams
  • Vice-Chancellor and President ex-officio - Professor Peter Høj AC FAA FTSE FNAI (US)
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic) ex officio - Professor Jennie Shaw
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Research) ex officio - Professor Anton Middelberg
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (External Engagement) ex officio - Dr Jessica Gallagher
  • Two members of Council appointed by the Council:
    • Mr Ian Henschke
    • The Hon Amanda Vanstone AO
  • A senior Professor of the University nominated by the Vice-Chancellor and President and approved by Council - Professor Melissa Nursey-Bray

In attendance:

  • Director, Governance Services (Secretary to the Committee)
  • Any other person may attend a meeting of the Committee at the invitation of the Chair