Council Selection Committee

Section 12 of the University of Adelaide Act 1971 is concerned with the constitution of the Council.

Section 12 (1)(d) of the Act provides for up to seven persons to be appointed by the Council on the recommendation of a selection committee in accordance with guidelines determined by the Council.

The criteria for the appointment of Council members are detailed in sections 12 (1) (d), 12 (2), 12 (3), 12 (4), 12 (6) of the University of Adelaide Act 1971. The requirements of paragraphs 7 and 8 of the Voluntary Code of Best Practice for the Governance of Australian Public Universities must also be taken into account when considering suitable members for appointment to the Council. 

In accordance with section 12A(1) of the Act and subject to section 12A(6), a member appointed to the Council by the Council will be appointed for a term of between 2 and 4 years to be determined—in the case of a member appointed on the recommendation of a selection committee—by that selection committee.


  • The Honourable Catherine Branson AC SC, Chancellor (Chair)

Three members of the Alumni Council:

  • Dr Rod Hill
  • Professor Helen Marshall AM
  • Ms Sophie Wilkinson

Three members appointed by the Chancellor:

  • Mr Justin Jamieson
  • Ms Christine Locher
  • Ms Erma Ranieri

In attendance: Director, Governance Services (Secretary to the Committee)