Skip to content
Currently Under Review

Higher Doctorates

Please note. This content is from the 2018 Research Student Handbook and should only be used as a guide. Please refer to the 2019 Research Student Handbook PDF for current information.

Higher doctorates are typically awarded on the basis of a collection of works that have been published or accepted for publication by the candidate.

Candidates for a higher doctorate are required to have a substantial association with the University of Adelaide and at the time of application, to have made an original contribution of distinguished merit to their disciplines over the course of their careers. Typically, candidates are mid-career professionals who have held a doctorate such as a PhD for a minimum of five years prior to their application.

The University of Adelaide offers seven higher doctorates:

  • the Doctor of Dental Science
  • the Doctor of Health Sciences
  • the Doctor of Engineering
  • the Doctor of Science
  • the Doctor of Letters
  • the Doctor of Laws, and
  • the Doctor of Music.

Any enquiries about higher doctorates should be directed to the Adelaide Graduate Centre or the relevant head of school.


Level 2, Schulz Building,
The University of Adelaide
SA 5005


Telephone: +61 8 8313 5882
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 5725

Opening Hours

Mon-Fri: 9:00am-5:00pm