IMER Staff


Professor Michael Goodsite

Interim Director, IMER and Director, Industry Engagement Priority for Energy, Mining and Resources

Michael Evan Goodsite Ph.D. is a civil- and environmental engineering full professor and Head of School for Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering (CEME) & Director of Commercialisation at the University of Adelaide Faculty of ECMS. An MBA in global management with experience as an appointee (by the elected Regional Council) as the Region of Southern Denmark’s Chief Operating Officer with responsibility for regional development which included environment and natural resources. Experienced Board member: currently appointed by the Danish Minister of Energy to the Board of the Danish National Energy Technology Development and Demonstration Programme (EUDP) as well as other associations and businesses. International university service includes Special Advisor to the Peking University Centre for Natural Resource Economics, China. Research interests: climate adaptation, green building and planning and as a fmr. military officer, operational efficiency/“green defense”. Expert evaluator/assessor for national and international research programmes.

Connect with Professor Michael Goodsite

Chris Matthews

Dr Chris Matthews

IMER Manager

Dr Matthews was previously a research officer and project manager with the SA Centre for Geothermal Energy Research (SACGER) at the University of Adelaide, and also the geoscience business development manager for IMER. He holds a Bachelor of Science Degree with Honours in Geology from the University of Adelaide and a PhD in heat flow and geothermal energy from Monash University. He has around 17 years' experience in the minerals exploration and mining sector, natural resource management and geothermal exploration.

Chris was the co-founder and first CEO of Torrens Energy Limited. He was CEO for two years and Chief Geologist for a further two years. He was responsible for designing, organising, and carrying out exploration programs for geothermal energy targets in Australia, where he was successful in discovering the world class Parachilna Geothermal Play in South Australia. Prior to co-founding Torrens Energy, his early geothermal research work led to the discovery and definition of Australia's first Hot Sedimentary Aquifer (HSA) resources that were located in the heart of existing power infrastructure. Chris was a founding member of the Australian Geothermal Energy Association (AGEA) executive from 2008 until 2010, with active roles in technical, legislative and policy development.

Connect with Dr Chris Matthews

Gus Nathan

Professor Graham (Gus) Nathan

Director, The Centre for Energy Technology (CET)

Professor Nathan was appointed founding Director of the University of Adelaide's Centre for Energy Technology in 2009. Professor Nathan leads the centre in identifying exciting technological developments to reduce the delivered cost of clean energy. He also leads the centre in engaging with partners spanning industry, international research partners and government agencies to harness the support to develop these new technologies. Find out more about CET.

Connect with Professor Gus Nathan

Martin Hand

Professor Martin Hand

Director, South Australian Centre for Geothermal Energy Research (SACGER)

Professor Hand was appointed as a lecturer at the University of Adelaide in 2000 and together with colleagues formed the Continental Evolution Research Group (CERG). This group conducts research within the Centre for Tectonics Resources and Exploration, of which he was formerly the director.

Professor Hand was appointed as the inaugural Director of the South Australian Centre for Geothermal Energy Research in 2009. Professor Hand has integrated his research interests with the emerging geothermal energy industry in South Australia. SACGER is funded from the State Government of South Australia, and seeks to assist the geothermal energy sector in bringing projects to demonstration. Find out more about SACGER.

Connect with Professor Martin Hand

Grahan Heinson

Professor Graham Heinson

Director, Mawson Geo Centre

Professor Heinson was appointed Director of the Mawson Geo Centre (formally TRaX) in 2017.  Professor Graham Heinson has over 20 years of experience using MT. His group has run the national AuScope MT facility for the last five years, and is involved in a wide range of research activities, including the national MT mapping program AusLAMP, and 4D monitoring of fluids for hydrocarbon and geothermal energy development. His group were finalists for the Eureka awards (in the category Land and Water) and were recent winners (November 2013) of the Australian Innovation Challenge (in the category Minerals and Energy). Find out more about TRaX.

Connect with Professor Graham Heinson