Skip to content

IPAS Scientific Management Committee (SMC)

The breadth of research conducted by IPAS members is categorised under six Research Themes, each led by a pair of Theme Leaders who are knowledgeable of the science and research programs within the Theme.

The role of the Theme Leaders is to advocate for the needs arising from the Theme, to develop strategies to grow opportunities for the Theme, and to facilitate action within the Theme. The Theme Leader is responsible for facilitating opportunities between IPAS Themes, endorsing applications for internal IPAS Schemes, and organising annual Theme events.

SMC Members

Prof Andrew AbellProf Andrew Abell Molecular Materials and Surfaces

Surface Chemistry, Protein and Peptide Synthesis

A/Prof Heike Ebendorf-HeidepriemProf Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem Optical Materials and Structures

Glass Science, Fibre Fabrication and Characterisation

Dr Sabrina HengDr Sabrina Heng Molecular Materials and Surfaces

Photoswitchable sensors, light-driven control of protein function

Rob McLaughlin Prof Robert McLaughlinBiological Sensing and Medical Diagnostics

Biophotonics, optical coherence tomography, fluorescence, medical devices

Prof Mark Hutchinson Prof Mark Hutchinson Biological Sensing and Medical Diagnostics

Neuroscience, Immunology, Pharmacology, Pain, Addiction, Spinal Cord Injury

Dr Tak KeeA/Prof Tak Kee Molecular Materials and Surfaces

Spectroscopy and Organic Materials for Sensing

Dr Jiawen Li Dr Jiawen Li Biological Sensing and Medical Diagnostics

Biophotonics, multimodal fibre-optic probe, optical coherence tomography, sensing and imaging

Prof Dusan Losic Prof Dusan Losic Optical Materials and Structures

Chemical Engineering

Prof Andre Luiten Prof Andre Luiten IPAS Director, Chair of Experimental Physics

Precision Measurement

A/Prof Martin O'ConnorA/Prof Martin O'Connor Novel Light Sources

Cryogenic Sapphire Oscilator

Dr David OttawayA/Prof David Ottaway Atmosphere, Space and High Energy Astronomy

Solid State Lasers, LIDAR Sensors, Gravitational Wave Detection

Dr Carolin PlewaA/Prof Carolin Plewa Adelaide Business School

Associate Head Research (Marketing and Management), Senior Lecturer in Marketing

Dr Gavin RowellA/Prof Gavin Rowell Atmosphere, Space and High Energy Astronomy

High Energy Astrophysics, Cosmic Ray Detection

Prof Nigel SpoonerAdjunct Prof Nigel Spooner Chemical and Radiation Sensing

Luminescence Analysis, Radiation Sensing, Optical Dating

Dr Georgios TsiminisDr Georgios Tsiminis Chemical and Radiation Sensing

Spectroscopy, Optical Fibre Sensors, Photonis, Chemical Sensing

Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing

North Terrace Campus
The Braggs Building
The University of Adelaide
Adelaide SA 5005


T: +61 8 8313 9254

Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing - Home