Dr Kathryn Amos receives 2020 SACOME award

Dr Kathryn Amos

Congratulations to Dr Kathryn Amos, Head of the Australian School of Petroleum and Energy Resources (ASPER), at the University of Adelaide, who has received the 2020 South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy (SACOME) Exceptional Woman in Resources Award.

The award recognises the exceptional achievement of a woman in the South Australian resources sector in any occupation. It notes qualities such as: leadership skills; resilience; methods of overcoming barriers; and willingness to seek out and tackle new responsibilities and challenges.

It also recognises the recipient's work to promote a positive perception of the mining and energy industry, through commitment to community engagement and development, contribution to gender diversity within the sector, or other sustainability initiatives.

Dr Amos said that she has worked with many inspirational women, but has seen many unable to flourish.

“I am the first female Head of ASPER, and the only female Head of School in the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences (of 8 Schools) and in this role, I hope to encourage more women to step up into positions of visible leadership in our sector", Dr Amos said.

Tagged in award, women in STEM, mining, energy