Earth Sciences celebrate Geological Society award winners

Dr Morgan Blades

Congratulations to Dr Morgan Blades, postdoctoral researcher in the Department of Earth Sciences, who has been awarded the 2020 Walter Howchin Medal. The Walter Howchin Medal is awarded annually by the Geological Society of Australia (SA division) to a researcher in the early stage of their career, who is distinguished by their significant published research work within the earth sciences in South Australia. The medal also commemorates the pioneering contribution of Walter Howchin (1845-1937), who worked for more than 50 years in South Australia documenting the State’s geology in more than 80 papers and teaching at the University of Adelaide.

Dr Blades has published numerous papers on the formation of Gondwana, the evolution of Proterozoic Australia, and in the evolution and water chemistry of basins. She is also the out-going Chair of the SA Division of the Geological Society and has been on the Executive for more than five years, a testament to her commitment to scientific service and outreach.

Former lecturer with the Department of Earth Sciences, Dr Steve Hill has received the prestigious Bruce Webb Medal for leadership that has advanced earth sciences and/or contributions to the advance of knowledge within the earth sciences in South Australia.

In addition to his work teaching students at the University of Adelaide, Dr Hill spent eight years as Director of the SA Geological Survey, before moving on to become the Chief Scientist in Geoscience Australia.

Tagged in award, earth sciences