Skip to content

Learning and Teaching Award Winners 2007

National Awards

The Australian Learning & Teaching Council (ALTC) administers the Awards for Australian University Teaching on behalf of the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations, Australian Government.

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

Note: Links to the applications of all Citation winners have been provided on this page as examples of writing in this genre. They are available to University of Adelaide staff only and require a valid UoA login. The TAGC would like to thank the Citation winners for this contribution to the award application process.

ACELL Project Team. (Team award)
ACELL team members at the University of Adelaide are Associate Professor Mark Buntine, Professor Geoffrey Crisp and Mr Justin Read.
For the development and implementation of the ACELL project, that is improving the quality of teaching and learning in undergraduate chemistry laboratories throughout Australia.

Peter Ashman, School of Chemical Engineering
For the creative use of 'real-world', open-ended scenarios in Chemical Engineering to promote the development of not just skills in problem analysis, but the ability to perceive and to choose between multiple solutions.

Colin Kestel, School of Mechanical Engineering
For stimulating confident, self directed student learning by modelling engineering practice in the classroom and lab while providing challenging, innovative and relevant curricula.

Elizabeth Koch, Elder Conservatorium of Music
For outstanding contribution to student learning in the field of music through the empathetic, effective mentoring of music students, particularly those studying the flute.

Maree O'Keefe, School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health
For innovative paediatric curriculum development including real and simulated experiential learning and consumer participation to enhance medical student learning.

Lucy Potter, School of Humanities
For outstanding modelling of both effective, student-centred teaching and dynamic leadership in the discipline of English, including ESL.

Anne Tonkin, Medicine Learning and Teaching Unit
For promoting and managing an integrated curriculum for medical students while enthusiastically modelling effective, student-centred teaching and learning in the classroom and the clinic.

Tracey Winning, School of Dentistry
For sustained scholarship in the implementation of problem-based learning in the discipline of dentistry, along with student mentoring that inspires successful, self-directed learning.

return to top

University of Adelaide Awards

Stephen Cole the Elder Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Team Award

  • Dr Peter Devitt, School of Medicine, and Mr Edward Palmer, Centre for Learning and Professional Development

Teaching Awards

  • Dr Shona Crabb, School of Medicine
  • Dr Tamath Rainsford, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Associate Professor Maree O'Keefe , School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health

Highly Commended

  • Associate Professor Amanda Le Couteur, School of Psychology
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Koch OAM, Elder Conservatorium of Music

Vice-Chancellor and President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Associate Professor Marie O'Keefe, School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health
    Marie's nomination stood out not only in terms of the quality of her teaching, but in terms of her contributions, both nationally and internationally, to the sholarship of learning and teaching in her discipline, as well as her contributions to the University and the wider community.

Award for Excellence in the Support of the Student Experience

  • Not awarded in 2007.

Award for Excellence in Higher Degree by Research Supervision (new in 2007)

  • Professor Martha Augoustinos, School of Psychology, was the inaugural winner of the Award for Excellence in Higher Degree by Research Supervision.
return to top

Faculty Awards

Faculty of Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences

Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching

  • Dr Katrina Falkner, Computer Science
  • Dr Colin Kestell, Mechanical Engineering
  • Dr Tamath Rainsford, Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • Associate Professor Matthew Roughan, Mathematical Sciences

Executive Dean's Award

  • Dr Katrina Falkner, Computer Science
  • Dr Tamath Rainsford, Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Faculty of Health Sciences

Executive Dean's Prizes for Excellence in Teaching

  • Dr Julie Hayes, School of Medical Sciences
  • Dr Hubertus Jersmann, School of Medicine
  • Dr Christina Boros, School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health
  • Ms Shona Crabb, School of Psychology


Division of Academic and Student Engagement

The University of Adelaide
South Australia 5005

Street Address

Level 7, Wills Building
North Terrace Campus


T +61 8 8313 5901
F +61 8 8313 8333