Skip to content

Learning and Teaching Award Winners 2008

National Awards

The Australian Learning & Teaching Council (ALTC) administers the Awards for Australian University Teaching on behalf of the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations, Australian Government.

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

Note: Links to the applications of all Citation winners have been provided on this page as examples of writing in this genre. They are available to University of Adelaide staff only and require a valid UoA login. The TAGC would like to thank the Citation winners for this contribution to the award application process.

Dr Karin Barovich, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
For outstanding contribution to the personal and academic development of first-year students in Geology, leading to successful transition from high school to university.

Dr Tom Burton, School of Humanities
For successfully stimulating deep learning by bringing to the study of English both rigour and a boundless enthusiasm that challenge and inspire students to achieve.

Dr Katrina Falkner, School of Computer Science
For enhancing learning and contributing to the successful transition of first-year Computer Science students through cooperative learning activities.

Associate Professor Simon Pyke, School of Chemistry and Physics
For enabling successful learning in the discipline of organic chemistry by providing a supportive, student-centred learning environment that fosters self-confidence and independent learning.

Professor Hemanta Sarma, Australian School of Petroleum
For initiating students into the profession of Petroleum Engineering while interacting with them to secure their welfare as individuals and success as scholars.

Associate Professor David Walker, School of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering
For providing a supportive learning environment while improving learning outcomes through the implementation of a successful self-paced learning strategy for engineering modelling and analysis.

Mr Edward Palmer, Centre for Learning and Professional Development, and Dr Peter Devitt, School of Medicine (Team award)
For the development of innovative and comprehensive blended learning resources to provide medical students stimulating opportunities to develop their problem-solving and diagnostic skills.

return to top

University of Adelaide Awards

Stephen Cole the Elder Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Team Award

  • Margaret Castles, Anne Hewitt, Cornelia Koch, Andrew Ligertwood and Matthew Stubbs, Law School
    Their work on a situational learning program and assessment motivates students and gives them a deep understanding of the ways in which legal theory is applied.

Teaching Awards

  • Dr Katrina Falkner, School of Computer Science
    Dr Falkner is leader in her School and Faculty in terms of education innovation and enthusiasm, and is determined to help every student acquire the skills and confidence to succeed in their chosen field of study.
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Koch OAM, Elder Conservatorium of Music
    Associate Professor Koch is an insightful educator who is able to instil confidence in young musicians while honing their musical skills. She is prepared to invest considerable time and effort to help students achieve their goals, nurturing their talents and aspirations.
  • Associate Professor Anne Tonkin, Medicine Learning & Teaching Unit
    Associate Professor Tonkin shares an exceptional rapport with students, has the ability to inspire and guide, and assists students in becoming confident and capable self-directed learners.

Highly Commended

  • Associate Professor Martin Lambert, Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering

Vice-Chancellor and President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Associate Professor Anne Tonkin, Director, Medical Education Unit.
    Anne's work on curriculum development and her teaching have been outstanding for a number of years, as noted by her students and colleagues.

Award for Excellence in the Support of the Student Experience

  • Not awarded in 2008.

Award for Excellence in Higher Degree by Research Supervision

  • Associate Professor Martin Lambert, School of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering
    For his exceptional ability for fostering in postgraduate students a sense of camaraderie and collegiality, a sense of purpose and achievement, and technical expertise.

Highly Commended

  • Associate Professor Kimi Coaldrake, Elder Conservatorium of Music
  • Associate Professor Martin Hand, Geology and Geophysics
return to top

Faculty Awards

Faculty of Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences

Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching

  • Dr Cheryl Pope, Computer Science
  • Associate Professor Martin Lambert, Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering

Executive Dean's Award

  • Dr Cheryl Pope, Computer Science

Faculty Award for Excellence for Higher Degree by Research Supervision

  • Associate Professor Martin Lambert, Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering

Faculty of Health Sciences

Executive Dean's Prizes for Excellence in Teaching

  • Mr Dane Horton, School of Molecular and Biomedical Sciences
  • Mr Frank Donnelly, School of Population Health and Clinical Practice
  • Associate Professor Anne Tonkin, School of Population Health and Clinical Practice
  • Dr Paul Duggan, School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health
  • Dr Eleanor Peirce and Dr Mario Ricci, School of Medical Sciences
  • Dr Corinna Van Den Heuvel, School of Medical Sciences


Division of Academic and Student Engagement

The University of Adelaide
South Australia 5005

Street Address

Level 7, Wills Building
North Terrace Campus


T +61 8 8313 5901
F +61 8 8313 8333