Skip to content

Sir Marcus Laurence Oliphant (1901-2000)

MSS 92 O4775p

Series 8. Commissions, Medals, Certificates, etc.

Examination certificates and degrees
Public Examinations Board Junior Examination Certificate 1916, Senior Examination Certificate1917, Higher Examination Certificate. 1918.
Unley High School Intermediate Certificate. March 1917, Leaving Certificate 1917.
University of Adelaide Bachelor of Science June 1923, Bachelor of Science (Honours)  December 1923.
University of Cambridge, Trinity College, Doctor of Philosophy  December 1929.
Newspaper cutting re award of Honorary D.Sc. by Queen's University Belfast, September 1949.
New South Wales University of Technology, Doctor of Science  March 1952.
Australian National University Doctor of Science September 1968.
Flinders University of South Australia, Doctor of Science April 1977.

Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE) 1959 (citation and related correspondence).
Queen Elizabeth the Second, Commission appointing Sir Mark Laurence Elwin Oliphant, K.B.E., to be Governor of South Australia 1971.
Dormant Commission [as Governor-General] April 1974
Order of Australia Investiture 19 April 1977.

Certificate of Award of Faraday Medal of the Institution of Electrical Engineers 1948.
Men of Achievement 1973 award (April 1974)
The Council of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences, appointment as Honorary Fellow February 1976.
The Lions Club of Adelaide, Certificate of Appreciation November 1976.
Australian National University Founders' Day and 80th birthday tribute 8 October 1981.
Australia Jaycees National Convention, Appointment as Patron October 1982.
Probus Club of Mitcham Honorary Life membership July 1986

A.N.U. Commemoration Programme March 1958 [at which ceremony Oliphant presented Sir Howard Florey for the degree of D.Sc.]

Aloysius Galvanus Medal, 1937.
Hughes Medal, 1941.
Trasenster Medal, Association of Engineers de l'Ecole de Liege, n.d. [1946]
Rontgen Society Memorial Lecture, 1946.
Reginald Mitchell Memorial Lecture Medal, 1947.
Faraday Medal, Institution of Electrical Engineers, n.d. [1948]
James N. Kirby Medal, Institution of Production Engineering, 1958.
Mathew Flinders medal, Australian Academy of Science, 1961.
Bancroft Orator medal, A.M.A. Queensland Branch, 1970.
?? Russian Academy of Science, 1971.
Lister Medal, Australian Medical Association, S.A. Branch. 1973
James Cook Medal, Royal Society of N.S.W. 1974.
Adelaide Children's Hospital Centenary Medal, Genetics symposium, August 1976.
Sciences Club Oration, 1977.
ANZAAS Medal, 1979.

Russell-Einstein Manifesto, 1954.
Danish Galathea Expedition memorial medal, 1952.
Medal to commemorate Liberation of Israel, 1948.
Medals commemorating Israel. 1969, 1972, 1973.
Official 1970 silver medal designed by Emilio Greco commemorating Pope Paul VI's pilgrimage to the Philippines and Australia, November-December, 1970. Front shows Jesus in a boat with Latin inscription on reverse.
Federation of Vintage Car Clubs, 1972.
Notice of forwarding of commemorative H.M. Silver Jubilee Medal [medal not held].

Plaques and trophies
James Duhig Memorial Lecture 8 September 1980, from St. Leo's College Students' Club.
Presented by R.A.A.F. City of Adelaide Squadron to Oliphant as Hon. Air Commodore 1971-76.
Letter opener presented by ANZAAS, W.A. Division, as inaugural A.D. Ross Lecturer, 1962.
Letter opener presented by Adelaide Speedboat Club on occasion of opening of 1974 season, October 1974

University Library

Barr Smith Library
South Australia 5005


Phone: +61 8 8313 5224