Lumen - The University of Adelaide Magazine The University of Adelaide Australia
Lumen Summer 2008 Issue
previous page next page
Download PDF Format | Lumen Archive | Editorial Contact

Recognising Excellence

Each year the University of Adelaide recognises the significant achievements and contributions of its alumni and friends through a variety of awards and grants.

Triple degree graduate and award-winning jazz pianist Brendan Lim is the Honours Alumni University Medallist for 2008.

Brendan completed and topped two honours degrees in Law and Music (Jazz Performance) in 2007, after already graduating with a Bachelor of Mathematical and Computer Science.

In the wake of his outstanding academic results, he was also awarded Australia's most prestigious postgraduate scholarship - the 2008 General Sir John Monash Award - to undertake further study at Yale University in the United States, where he is doing a Master of Laws.

The 24-year-old graduated top of his class in Law, winning all the Honours prizes as well as the prestigious Stow Medal.

In April 2008 he was also presented with the Hyatt Regency Award for the Most Outstanding Honours Graduate.

His other prizes include:

  • 2005 - Deans Certificates (highest achiever in a course) for Jessup Moot, Remedies, Australian Constitutional Law and Equity. Prizes: The Howard Zelling Prize for Constitutional Law; the John Keeler and John Bray Law Chapter Alumni Prize for Equity; The Stow Prize.
  • 2006 - Deans Certificates for Administrative Laws; Comparative Law; Litigation Practice. Prizes: The Stow Prizes; The Justin Skipper Prize; The Howard Zelling Prize for Administrative Law; The Fisher Jeffries Prize for Litigation Practice.
  • 2007 - Deans Certificate for Jurisprudence. Prizes: The Title of Stow Scholar; The Stow Prizes; the MF and PJ Manetta Prize; The David Murray Scholarship in Law; The John Bray Law Chapter Alumni Prize; The Law Society of SA Centenary Prize; The Angas Parsons Prize; the Thomas Playford Prize and Medal.


Distinguished Alumni Awards

Robert Benjamin Cooter MBBS 1952
In recognition of his outstanding and innovative vision for rural health which has been important in laying the foundation for rural health training in general practice in South Australia, together with his continued contact and support of the University of Adelaide over many years.

Elizabeth Alice Silsbury B Mus (Hons) (1967), Mus Bac (1959), BA (1956), Dip Mus (1953)
In recognition of her exceptional contribution to music and music education in South Australia at primary, secondary and tertiary levels; the value of her talents and skills promoting South Australia through national and international organizations and publications, and her service to the University of Adelaide.

Gwendoline Fay Gale D Univ (1994), PHD (1962), BA (Hons) (1954), BA (1952)
In recognition of her outstanding teaching influence and achievements in Women's Studies and University Equity, in Human Geography and Aboriginal Studies (awarded posthumously).

Mutual Community Postgraduate Travel Grants

Miss Emily Jaehne
Faculty of Health Sciences, Discipline of Pharmacology
Field of Research: Drugs of Dependence and Abuse

Miss Geraldine Wong
Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences
Field of Research: Climate Change, Water Resource Management

Vinh Lu
Faculty of the Professions
Field of Research: Services marketing, export marketing, relationships marketing

Mutual Community Postdoctoral Travel Grants

Dr Ann Sanders
Faculty of Health Sciences, School of Dentistry
Field of Research: Tooth Retention

AUGU/RC Heddle Award 2008

Miss Danielle Williams
Faculty of Science, Department of Chemistry
Field of Research: Protein Chemistry

Brendan Lim

Brendan Lim

Full Image (56.36K)


Media Contact:
Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762