Lumen - The University of Adelaide Magazine The University of Adelaide Australia
Lumen Summer 2010 Issue
previous page next page
Download PDF Format | Lumen Archive | Editorial Contact

Recognising Excellence

A lifetime of outstanding achievement has seen three University of Adelaide graduates receive a prestigious Distinguished Alumni Award from the University.

Awarded annually, the Distinguished Alumni Awards recognise alumni who have enhanced the reputation of the University of Adelaide and have given outstanding service to the community or made a significant contribution in their chosen fields.

Dr Barbara Rosemary Hardy AO

(BSc 1947)

In recognition of her lifelong commitment and significant contribution to the advancement of Science Education, Science Awareness and Environmental Conservation.

Dr Hardy has worked tirelessly to promote the environment and science education.

She has served in various capacities in support of this goal, including: Commissioner of the Australian Heritage Commission; President of the National Parks Foundation of South Australia (now the Nature Foundation SA); and Chair of the South Australian Landcare Committee.

She also founded the Investigator Science and Technology Centre, received Life Membership of the Australian Science Communicators and recently had the Barbara Hardy Centre for Sustainable Urban Environments named after her by the University of South Australia.

She has been a vocal advocate for solar and sustainable energy and is an Officer of the Order of Australia.

Mr John Laurence Menadue AO

(BEc (Hons) 1957, BEc 1956)

In recognition of his significant and lifelong contribution to Australian Society as a Public Servant, Diplomat, Critical Thinker, Board Director, Advisor and Public Commentator.

Mr Menadue has had a distinguished career both in the private sector and in the Public Service. His past positions include: General Manager, News Limited; Head of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, working for Prime Ministers Whitlam and Fraser; Australian Ambassador to Japan; Head, Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs; Head, Department of Trade; CEO of Qantas; a Director of Telstra; and a Director of the NSW State Rail Authority.

His awards include the Japanese Imperial Award, The Grand Cordon of the Order of the Sacred Treasure.

In 1983 he was awarded the Centenary Medal and in 1985 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia.

Mr Menadue has maintained his connection with the University of Adelaide through being a lifelong supporter of Lincoln College.

Dr Rex John Lipman AO

(BDS 1951)

In recognition of his significant contribution and leadership over many years in the areas of Dentistry, Business, Diplomacy and Education and his lifelong commitment to the Adelaide University Regiment.

Dr Lipman graduated from the University of Adelaide with a Bachelor of Dentistry in 1951, and in the early part of his career pioneered publicity for the fluoridation of water supplies.

He followed his dental practice involvement with a successful business career as a merchant banker and director of a number of South Australian companies. He has served as Executive Chairman of Harris Scarfe Ltd and Honorary Consul for France, and established Angas Travel (of which he is still Chairman) and the very successful International College of Hotel Management.

Dr Lipman's contributions have been recognised by high awards from both the Australian and French governments, including being made a French Officer of National Order of Merit in 1982, and an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2008.

Do you know somebody worthy of consideration for a Distinguished Alumni Award?

Development and Alumni is now accepting nominations for the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Awards. Nominations are open to any person who meets the definition of an alumnus: a graduate, present or former student, or past or present staff member of the University of Adelaide.

The purpose of the award is to recognise alumni who have enhanced the reputation of the University of Adelaide and one of the following:

  • have given outstanding service to the community; or
  • have made an outstanding contribution in their chosen field.

For more information and nomination forms, phone 08 8303 6356 or visit

Nominations should be forwarded in writing by 30 April 2010 to:
Gaynor Tyerman,
Alumni Relations Officer (Domestic and Awards),
Level 1, 230 North Terrace,

Dr Barbara Rosemary Hardy AO

Dr Barbara Rosemary Hardy AO
Full Image (70.1K)

Mr John Laurence Menadue AO

Mr John Laurence Menadue AO
Full Image (43.47K)

Dr Rex John Lipman AO

Dr Rex John Lipman AO
Full Image (35.23K)


Media Contact:
Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762