Lumen - The University of Adelaide Magazine The University of Adelaide Australia
Lumen Summer 2011 Issue
previous page next page
Download PDF Format | Lumen Archive | Editorial Contact

Alumni on the move

If you've recently celebrated a promotion or career achievement, a change of jobs, or won a major prize, we want to hear about it! Share your good news with your fellow alumni by emailing us 50 words or less, including your name, degree and graduation year.

Send it to or call +61 8303 5800.

Peter Couche [B Ec 1971, Grad Dip Mgmt, 1998] has been awarded the 2010 Pride of Australia medal for Courage. The medal recognises his determination and strength of character to overcome personal adversity.

Peter, who appeared on the front cover of the Summer 2010 issue of Lumen, suffered an irreversible brain-stem stroke at age 41. Peter's stroke left him a quadriplegic with "locked-in syndrome".

In association with the Robinson Institute and the University of Adelaide, Peter has established the Peter Couche Foundation to raise funds to support stroke research within the Centre for Stem Cell Research.

This research provides hope for brain repair treatment for stroke damaged brains. Peter also aims to raise awareness of the incidence and impact of stroke; particularly that useful life does not end just because you have suffered a stroke.

For more information go to:


Greta Bradman [B Mus 2002, B A (Psych) 2003, B A (Hons) 2004] has released a new album, Forest of Dreams, a collection of beautiful lullabies, exploring the interesting combination of music and psychology.

Jessica Dean [B MusP C-V (Honours) 2005] will make her solo debut with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra on 11 December 2010 for a summer's evening of popular classics and operatic arias in the Adelaide Botanic Gardens. Jessica studied Voice with Rosalind Martin and Guila Tiver and was awarded one of Arts SA's Emerging Artists Awards in partnership with her husband, pianist and musical director Anthony Hunt [B MusP C-K (Honours) 2005].

Michael Meagher [LCB M A (Gastronomy) 2006] has won the 2010 Chaine des Rotisseurs' Best Young Sommelier competition. The Chaine des Rotisseurs is an international gastronomic society founded in Paris in 1950, devoted to promoting fine dining.

Carli Ratcliff [GC Food Writing 2008] has tasted success at the Australian Food Media Awards, winning the Best New Food Writer category in 2010. Carli is a freelance food writer who writes for the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living and Traveller sections.

Duangporn Songvisava [LCB M A (Gastronomy) 2004] runs her own Thai restaurant, Bo.lan, in Bangkok and is co-host of a morning television cooking show Gin Yoo Keu (Eat, Live, Be) in Thailand. Prior to this she worked in a Thai restaurant in London, Nahm, operated by Michelin-starred chef David Thompson. Duangporn subscribes to the "slow food principle", adhering to traditional cooking methods and using organic produce from local farmers.


Tan Gim Boon [B Com 1993 and B Laws 1995] has been appointed a Director of Axiata, one of the largest telecommunication companies in Asia. Prior to joining Axiata as its General Counsel he was in private practice in Malaysia and Sydney. His last post before joining Axiata was with Malaysian law firm Zaid Ibrahim & Co.

Peng Gaojian [Grad Dip Int Ec 1999 ] was the 2010 Australia China Alumni Awards winner at a gala presentation dinner for AusAid Scholarship recipients in Shanghai in July 2010. He is Deputy Director-General, Department of Politics, Human Resources and Social Security, Legislative Affairs Office of the State Council in Beijing.

Nathan Gianneschi [B Sc (Hons) 1999] has been awarded a United States Presidential Early Career Award for Science. The award is the highest honour bestowed by the US Government on scientists who are beginning their professional careers. Nathan is a chemistry professor at the University of California, San Diego. He will receive his award from President Barack Obama at a White House ceremony.

Adam Liaw [B Sc (Jur) 1998, LLB 2000] was crowned the winner of the Channel 10 series MasterChef for 2010. Adam outlasted fellow Adelaide alumnus Marion Grasby (student) and beat University of Adelaide engineering student Callum Hann (student) in the final.

Stephanie Lambert [B Sc 1997, B Sc (Hons) 1998, PhD (Ag Nat Res Sc) 2002] has been appointed chief winemaker with internationally recognised Amisfield Wine Company in New Zealand.

Dr Natasha Rogers [MBBS 1999] was named the best young medical researcher in South Australia in 2010 for her PhD research in improving organ transplant success rates. Natasha won the prestigious Ross Wishart Memorial Award presented by the SA branch of the Australian Society for Medical Research.

Paul Riordan [B Arch St 1990, B Arch St (Hons) 1993] has been appointed Director of Policy at the Energy Retailers Association of Australia. Previously Paul co-chaired the national phase-out of emission-intensive electric water heaters and directed the Federal Government's Residential Energy Efficiency team and House Energy Rating Scheme.

Peter Sheppard [B Ec 1992, B Ec (Hons) (1993), LLB (1996), B Com (1999) CA] has been appointed Associate Director in the Sydney office of leading corporate reconstruction practice BRI Ferrier. Peter leads the firm's technical and training team.

Dr Trevor Garnett [B Sc 1991, B Sc (Hons) 1993] was profiled as part of an investigative piece by prestigious science journal Nature into the increasing focus of plant breeders on how roots can improve crop yields.


Dr Raj Lada [PhD Ag Sc 1989] is a professor with the Nova Scotia Agricultural College, Canada. He has established a prolific research program addressing a wide range of horticultural crops and was recently awarded the NSAC Research Excellence Award for his work in plant physiology.

Dr Helen Marshall [MBBS 1988, M Pub Hlth, 2004] received the award for Excellence in Research for Public Good at the 2010 South Australian Science Excellence Awards. Dr Marshall was recognised for her research into vaccines and immunisation, which aims to prevent deaths in young infants.


Stephen Kenny [LLB 1979] was awarded the Law Society of South Australia's prestigious justice award in recognition of his efforts on behalf of the disadvantaged.

Dr S Narayan [Dip Bus Mgmt 1974] has been appointed Head of Research at the Institute of South Asian Studies, National University of Singapore.

Professor Don Fuller [B Ec 1970, B Ec (Hons) 1972, PhD (Ec) 1984] has been appointed Professor of Governance at Charles Darwin University after working in Indonesia and various parts of Australia.

Clive Winkler [B Sc 1969, B Eng (Electrical) 1970] has been appointed Chief Technology Officer for United States company Free Wave Technologies. The company manufactures sophisticated, high-performance radios for oil, gas, utility, military and other industrial applications. Prior to joining Free Wave, Clive worked with Cubic Defense Applications in San Diego, California.


Professor Emerita Jill Roe AO [B A (Hons) 1963] was awarded the Premier's Prize for Non-Fiction at the 2010 Writer's Week in Adelaide. Professor Roe received the prize for her biography of Miles Franklin. Professor Roe, who lives in NSW, was honoured with an AO in the 2007 Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Peter Couche

Peter Couche
Full Image (132.31K)


Media Contact:
Mr David Ellis
Media and Communications Officer
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762