Lumen - The University of Adelaide Magazine The University of Adelaide Australia
Lumen Summer 2005 Issue
previous page next page
Download PDF Format | Lumen Archive | Editorial Contact

Recognising Excellence

Each year the Alumni Association recognises the significant achievements and contributions of its alumni and friends through a variety of awards and grants.

Honours Alumni University Medallist

The Honours Alumni University Medal and the Postgraduate Alumni University Medal acknowledge outstanding academic excellence in students. One medal per award is granted each year and presented to the most outstanding student in that graduating year.

Simon Jonathan Tuke was the Honours Alumni University Medallist for 2005. Simon graduated Bachelor of Mathematical and Computer Sciences with First Class Honours in December 2004.

Simon had a remarkable undergraduate academic record in which he achieved a perfect set of High Distinctions in all courses. This feat is almost unprecedented within the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences.

Mutual Community Postgraduate Travel Grants and the AUGU/RC Heddle Award

Mutual Community Postgraduate Travel Grants and the AUGU/RC Heddle Award support the research undertaken by doctoral candidates. Recipients are provided with funding to travel to a conference or research institution essential to the advancement of their research.

The first-round recipients of the 2005 Mutual Community Postgraduate Travel Grants are Miss Magdalene Addicoat (Chemistry) and Mr Samuel Peter Stacey (Earth and Environmental Sciences). The second round recipients of the Mutual Community Travel Grant are Ms Gretel Png (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) and Ms Lisa Jane Moran (Obstetrics and Gynaecology). Mr Matias Braccini (Environmental Biology) is the 2005 AUGU/ RC Heddle Award recipient.

Distinguished Alumni Awards
Distinguished Alumni Awards recognise alumni who have given outstanding service to the University of Adelaide and/or the Alumni Association, and have given outstanding service to the community or have made outstanding contributions in their chosen field.

Mr Maurice de Rohan and Dr Richard Brock are recipients of the 2005 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Distinguished Alumni Award -- Call for nominations

Each year the University of Adelaide Alumni Association formally recognises its outstanding alumni by bestowing up to three Distinguished Alumni Awards. These awards recognise outstanding service to the University of Adelaide and/or the Alumni Association, and outstanding service to the community or outstanding contribution in their chosen fields.

The Alumni Association is now accepting nominations for the 2006 awards. The rules for this award and information on the nomination process are available on our web site at: or by contacting +61 8 8303 5800.

If you know of an individual who you feel is deserving of such an award please forward your nomination in writing to:

Secretary, Alumni Association
Development and Alumni
University of Adelaide SA 5005

Submissions must be lodged, in writing, no later than 31 MAY 2006.

Magdalene Addicoat

Magdalene Addicoat
Full Image (53.54K)


Media Contact:
Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762