Lumen - The University of Adelaide Magazine The University of Adelaide Australia
Lumen Summer 2005 Issue
previous page next page
Download PDF Format | Lumen Archive | Editorial Contact

Graduates on the move


Ramy Azer (MSc & Tech Comm 2003, Grad Dip Bus Eng 1997):
Is Managing Director of Papyrus Australia which is about to start early marketing of its environmentally friendly paper, made from banana trees.

Joshua Cantone (BE (Civil) 2003):
Has been awarded one of the world's most prestigious scholarships, the Fullbright Postgraduate Award.

Carrie Demertzis (BA 1998, LLB 2000):
Is a defence lawyer, and partner of five years with Lipson Chambers.

David Lawson (MSc & Tech Comm 2003):
Was appointed Consul-General and Trade Commissioner for Austrade in San Francisco.

Sam Glaetzer (BE (Civil & Env) 1996, Grad Dip Oen 2000):
Has a new role as group winemaker (commercial and wine utilisation), and will oversee wine production at 20 to 40 wineries that make wine for Foster's Wine Estates in regions where it does not have its own wineries.

Nick Palousis (BE (Mechatronic Engineering) 2003, BSc 2004):
Is the youngest partner in The Natural Edge Project, an organisation that promotes environmental and economic sustainability among governments and corporations. Mr Palousis contributed to the book The Natural Advantage of Nations, which received international acclaim.

Lucky Tran (BSc (Bio Sc) 2003, BSc (Hons) 2004):
Has been awarded the prestigious Poynton Scholarship, enabling him to study for a PhD at Cambridge University in the UK.

Nathan Gianneschi (BSc 1998, BSc (Hons) 1999),
Mark Hutchinson (BSc 1999, BSc (Hons) 2000),
David Lupton (MSc (Mol Biol) 2000, BSc (Hons) 2000):
Are among seven scientists sharing in $270,000 in fellowship grants from the American-Australian Association. The American Australian Association's fellowship program is the largest privately funded education program between Australia and the US.


Camille Abbott (B Mus Jazz 1995):
Was recently promoted to the position of Customer Marketing Manager - VIC with 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment. Her four-and-a half years of service with the company as Supply Chain Supervisor in their Sydney office was recognised and rewarded with the challenging opportunity in Fox's Melbourne sales team.

Peter Gago (B Ag & Nat Res Sc 1990):
Has been named Winemaker of the Year by a prominent United States magazine. Mr Gago is Penfolds' Chief Winemaker and the only Australian to be named in the annual Wine Enthusiast Magazine Start Awards.

Stephen Kirkby (BA 1989, PhD 1995):
Is the co-founder of Maxamine, a company based in San Francisco which uses artificial intelligence concepts to provide website analysis. Married with two children under five, Dr Kirby commutes between the United States and Adelaide every two weeks.

Robert Mann (B Ag Sc (Oen) 1998):
Is winemaker at the Hardys winery Tintara McLaren Vale, where he is involved in the crafting of all Hardy premium red and white wines made from fruit from McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills.


Associate Professor Shaun McColl (B Sc (Hons) 1982, PhD 1988):
Has received more than $500,000 in funding from the United States National MS Society. The money will be used to tackle the mystery disease multiple sclerosis. Associate Professor McColl is working in the Department of Molecular Biosciences at the University of Adelaide.

Celine McInerney (LLB 1980):
Has entered the Hall of Fame of the SA chapter of the Asia Pacific Business Council for Women for her contributions to law and the arts.

Dr Ian Shankland (BSc 1973, BSc (Hons) 1975, PhD 1980):
Is Director of Technology for Honeywell Chemicals. Dr Shankland is responsible for Honeywell's labs in the US and Germany. He has been at the forefront of work to create safe replacements for chlorofluorocarbons. He has invented a number of products which are used in air-conditioning and refrigeration today and describes this as a once-in-a-lifetime issue to work on as a chemist.


Angus Redford (LLB 1979):
In May 2005 Angus Redford was promoted to the Shadow Ministry with Energy and Emergency Services added to his portfolio responsibilities. In April 2005 Mr Redford nominated for the Lower House seat of Bright, and was delighted to become the endorsed Liberal candidate for Bright at the next State election in March 2006.

Marie Shaw (LLB 1975):
Was recently appointed as a judge of the District Court.

Gary Watts (LLB 1976):
Was recently appointed the new chair of The Helpmann Academy Board.


Dr Robin Warren (MBBS 1961):
Has jointly won the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for discovering that bacteria, not stress, was the main cause of painful stomach ulcers.


Rudy Gomez (BE 1959):
Conducts a one-man mining operation in the State's north, and has made a copper find which has been described as "phenomenal". Mr Gomez drilled a 70m section of earth out of an area about 100km south east of the Olympic Dam copper/gold/uranium mine, and found an average grade of 3.03 percent copper, and 0.4 grams per tonne of gold.

The University of Adelaide alumni community would like to know what's new with you!

If you would like to share your milestones (births, marriages, awards, promotions, etc) with your fellow alumni, please send your name, degree, graduation year, and a short update of 50 words or less to:

Development and Alumni office
Level 1, 230 North Terrace
The University of Adelaide
SA 5005, Australia
Fax: +61 8 8303 5808

Submissions are always welcome so please remember us when you have some life news to share. Photographs are also welcome.

Full Image (45.95K)


Media Contact:
Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762