Astrobiology: search for the origins of life

Friday, 6 August 2004

International Space University: Gerald Soffen memorial panel

The sheer number of opportunities for life in the universe suggests that it must exist somewhere, but how will we know it, and how can we find it?

What can we learn from our own planet about life on other planets? How can other planets show us what the evolution of life was like on Earth?

This free public event is part of the International Space University (ISU) program being run in Adelaide, hosted by the three South Australian universities - Adelaide, UniSA and Flinders.

The panellists are:

  • Dr Chris Daniels (Associate Professor, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Adelaide)
  • Dr Jim Gehling (Research Scientist, Earth Sciences, South Australian Museum)
  • Dr Wendell Mendell (NASA Johnson Space Center, ISU Faculty)

WHERE: Union Hall, University of Adelaide, North Terrace Campus
WHEN: 7.30pm Tonight - Friday, August 6
COST: FREE

www.ssp04adelaide.com

 

Contact Details

Dr Jim Gehling
Email: Gehling.Jim@saugov.sa.gov.au
Research Scientist
Earth Sciences
South Australian Museum
Business: +61 8 8207 7441


Dr Chris Daniels
Email: chris.daniels@adelaide.edu.au
Associate Professor
School of Earth & Environmental Sciences
The University of Adelaide
Business: + 61 8 8313 6129
Mobile: 0410 422 759


Nicole Cremer
Email: Nicole.Cremer@unisa.edu.au
Website: http://www.ssp04adelaide.com
Executive Officer
ISU Adelaide program
Mobile: 0439 844 834


Morla Milne
Email: Milne@isu.isunet.edu
Website: http://www.isunet.edu
Media Relations Office
International Space University
Business: +61 8 8302 1188


Ms Robyn Mills
Email: robyn.mills@adelaide.edu.au
Media and Communications Officer
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 6341
Mobile: +61 410 689 084


Mr David Ellis
Email: david.ellis@adelaide.edu.au
Website: http://www.adelaide.edu.au/news/
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762