Uni of Adelaide funded for teaching excellence

Thursday, 7 December 2006

The University of Adelaide's excellence in learning and teaching has been rewarded today with $1.34 million funding under the Federal Government's 2007 Learning and Teaching Performance Fund.

The University of Adelaide this year had the greatest increase in overall student satisfaction of any university in Australia. It also moved into the number one position in Australia for the number of Bachelor degree students going on to further full-time study.

The Learning and Teaching Performance Fund allocations are based on seven performance indicators of student satisfaction, student success and graduate outcomes.

University Vice-Chancellor and President Professor James McWha said: "The University of Adelaide is very pleased to be awarded funding from this year's Learning and Teaching Performance Fund but we still question the integrity of the process. We are absolutely committed to excellence in learning and teaching. This year's results reflect our commitment and the significant improvement we made on last year. However, we believe the process remains flawed and we urge the Department for Education, Science and Training to review it."

University Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Fred McDougall said: "Together with a national award, a fellowship and seven citations for excellence in teaching and learning this year, this outcome shows the University of Adelaide's determination to provide an outstanding educational experience for our students. I especially congratulate the Health disciplines for their success this year."

Excellence in learning and teaching awards this year for the University of Adelaide have included:

  • A $25,000 Australian University Award for Teaching Excellence by the Carrick Institute for Learning and Teaching in Higher Education to Associate Professor Holger Maier from the University's School of Civil and Environmental Engineering;
  • Seven Carrick Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning awarded to: Dr Ben Cazzolato (Mechanical Engineering); Dr Anna Chur-Hansen (Psychiatry); Dr Mark Jaksa (Civil and Environmental Engineering); Associate Professor Amanda Le Couteur (Psychology); Associate Professor Holger Maier (Civil and Environmental Engineering); Dr Joy McEntee (English); and Associate Professor David Paton (Earth and Environmental Sciences);
  • A Carrick Associate Fellowship for Excellence in Learning and Teaching awarded to Associate Professor Geoffrey Crisp, Director of the University's Centre for Learning and Professional Development.


Contact Details

Media Team
Email: media@adelaide.edu.au
Website: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/newsroom/
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814