Vicki Sara joins Genomics Centre Board

Friday, 17 September 2004

The Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics Pty Ltd (ACPFG) has received a major boost with the appointment of leading researcher Professor Vicki Sara to its Board of Directors.

"Professor Sara brings extensive research knowledge across Australia, excellent contacts to key decision makers in Canberra and a sound understanding of the importance of research to the Australian community," says Mr Nick Begakis AM, chairman of the ACPFG.

Professor Sara is a former CEO of the Australian Research Council, chair of the Council and a member of the Prime Minister's Science Engineering and Innovation Council (PMSEIC).

She is chair of the Bureau of Meteorology Advisory Board, and a member of the Cooperative Research Centres Committee, the Advisory Board of the Rio Tinto Foundation for a Sustainable Minerals Industry, and the Australian Law Reform Commission Gene Patenting Advisory Committee.

Professor Sara is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. She was appointed Vice-Chair of the OECD's Global Science Forum in 1999 and member of the Advisory Board of the APEC R&D Leaders' Forum in 2002.

"I am looking forward to contributing to the ACPFG. It is exciting to be involved with such an outstanding group at the cutting edge of plant biotechnology," Professor Sara says.

Professor Sara replaces Professor Alan Robson, who announced in January that he would be unable to continue his role with the ACPFG board due to commitments as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia.

"We are extremely fortunate to have had Professor Alan Robson on our board. His contribution to the running of the ACPFG was invaluable," Mr Begakis says.

"We thank Professor Robson for his valuable contribution and wish him well with his new position."


Contact Details

Media Team
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814