Outstanding students in scholarship ceremony

Monday, 23 February 2009

More than 150 of the most outstanding students will attend a special presentation ceremony with Employment, Training and Further Education Minister Paul Caica at Bonython Hall tomorrow after winning scholarships to study at the University of Adelaide.

The University has provided up to $1 million to attract the best and brightest students from every area of the State, as well as the Northern Territory, Broken Hill and rural Victoria.

A total of 22 Merit Scholarships and 124 Principals' Scholarships will be awarded, as well as the highly-regarded Andy Thomas Scholarship and four Adelaide Undergraduate Scholarships.

International scholarships - the Adelaide Vietnam, the Adelaide Outstanding Achievers International, and the Adelaide Malaysia Scholarships - will also be awarded to nine outstanding international students.

Former Renmark High School student Brian Maddocks has won the annual Andy Thomas Scholarship, named after one of the University's most distinguished graduates, NASA astronaut Dr Andrew Thomas. Brian will study Mechanical Engineering. Andy Thomas Scholarship winners are chosen based on academic merit and community involvement and contribution.

Local students Alice Wharldall (Joslin), Danielle Fitzpatrick (Auldana), Shane Selvanderan (Burnside) and Aakriti Gupta (Northgate) have won the prized Adelaide Undergraduate Scholarships. Winners of this scholarship achieved a TER of 99.95 (excluding all bonuses) and made a significant contribution to their school and wider community.

Both the Andy Thomas and Adelaide Undergraduate Scholarships provide full fee remission for the approved program plus $5000 to help with education and living costs, each year for up to four years.

The Principals' Scholarships, worth $5000, are awarded to students who have been nominated by their former school principal for outstanding academic merit and for making a significant contribution to their school and wider community.

The Merit Scholarships, worth $10,000, are awarded to students who gained a perfect TER of 99.95, excluding all bonuses.

University of Adelaide Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor James McWha, congratulates the students on their scholarships.

"These students have already revealed their outstanding character and academic ability and we are very pleased they have chosen to study at the University of Adelaide," Professor McWha says. "We are committed to educating high achievers and encouraging the best students to stay and study in South Australia."


Contact Details

Media Team
Email: media@adelaide.edu.au
Website: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/newsroom/
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814