Adelaide researchers dominate science awards

The 2009 South Australian Scientist of the Year, Professor Rob Norman.
Photo courtesy of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).

The 2009 South Australian Scientist of the Year, Professor Rob Norman.
Photo courtesy of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).

Full Image (19.13K)

Friday, 21 August 2009

University of Adelaide staff dominated the South Australian Science Excellence Awards last night with the top award of SA Scientist of the Year plus another four awards.

Professor Rob Norman, Director of the University's Robinson Institute, is the 2009 SA Scientist of the Year. Professor Norman is a leader in reproductive health and has been involved in many of the pioneering developments in IVF in Australia.

He leads a world-class group of more than 350 researchers in the areas of reproductive health and regenerative medicine and has been named by the National Health and Medical Research Council as one of Australia's 10 great minds in research.

Science and Information Economy Minister Michael O'Brien said Professor Norman was an outstanding South Australian and a world-class scientist who promoted internationally competitive research in reproduction.

The other University of Adelaide winners were:

  • Professor Alastair MacLennan, Head of the University's Discipline of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and also a member of the Robinson Institute, won the Excellence in Research for Public Good Award. His department is internationally known as the largest and most productive research unit into women's and children's health. Professor MacLennan's research has included safer births, causes of cerebral palsy, better contraception, and management of menopause.

  • Healthy Development Adelaide (HDA) won the Excellence in Research Collaboration Award. HDA addresses high priority research issues into the physical, psychological and social health of Australian infants, children and adolescents. HDA was established in 2004 as an initiative of the University of Adelaide as a collaboration with the University of South Australia, the Women's and Children's Health Research Institute, Channel 7 Children's Research Foundation and the Department of Education and Children's Services and other supporting partners. Professor Norman is one of the leaders of HDA.

  • Professor Holger Maier, Professor of Integrated Water Systems Engineering in the School of Civil, Environmental & Mining Engineering won the Tertiary Science Educator of the Year. Professor Maier teaches in the areas of water and environmental engineering and is the co-developer of the multi-award winning Mekong e-Sim - a computer supported simulation project for environmental engineering students.

  • Dr Alice Rumbold, Senior Research Fellow in the Discipline of Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Robinson Institute, was also announced as the South Australian Young Tall Poppy of the Year. Dr Rumbold won the award for her research into women's reproductive health problems, particularly among Aboriginal women.

"Tonight's winners are true leaders in their field and we commend them for their excellence in science," Mr O'Brien said.


Contact Details

Media Team
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814