Reward for top science students

Friday, 20 February 1998

More than 30 of Australia's highest achievers in science will be inducted into the Adelaide Science Scholars Scheme at the University of Adelaide today.

The scheme is offered by the University of Adelaide's Faculty of Science to students who achieve 19 or 20 out of 20 in three science subjects in Year 12. It's also open to interstate or International Baccalaureate students with equivalent achievements.

With 31 scholars in 1998, the Science Scholars Scheme has grown considerably since it was introduced last year (with 17 participants). This jump in the number of high-achieving students studying science reflects an increasing awareness of the range of careers opened up by tertiary studies in science.

"We have chosen to provide added value to our brightest students studying Science at the University of Adelaide," says the Dean of Science at the University, Dr Alastair Blake.

"In the past we have trialled various options, including accelerated entry, but they have not always proved to be beneficial for the students. Instead, we are committed to providing these students with an enriched undergraduate experience."

Adelaide Science Scholars get the opportunity to work with a Mentor throughout their studies in one of the Bachelor of Science courses. Through seminars, special lectures and regular contact with the Mentor (who is a member of the University's research staff) Adelaide Science Scholars have the chance to explore science and the diversity of scientific research in greater depth.

Mentors for the Science Scholars will provide individual guidance and extension activities for their proteg├ęs, who gain an insight into life as a research scientist in one of Australia's leading universities.

"Adelaide Science offers all its students excellent facilities, courses that open doors to a wide range of career options and access to leading researchers. We also recognise the need to provide a special service to these gifted students," Dr Blake says.

A reception inducting the 1998 Science Scholars will be held at 4.00pm in the University of Adelaide's Union Building.


Contact Details

Ms Robyn Mills
Media and Communications Officer
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 6341
Mobile: +61 410 689 084

Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762