New Fellow elected to Australian Academy of Science

New Australian Academy of Science Fellow, Professor Tanyo Monro

New Australian Academy of Science Fellow, Professor Tanyo Monro
Full Image (96.79K)

Monday, 26 March 2012

University of Adelaide physicist Professor Tanya Monro has been elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

Each year, the Academy honours a small number of scientists by electing them to the Academy in recognition of their outstanding contributions to science.

The Academy's Fellows represent Australia's leading research scientists whose achievements are internationally significant.

Professor Monro is Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) at the University of Adelaide.

She has been elected a Fellow of the Academy for "Developing nanophotonics for nonlinear optics and sensing, resulting in novel solutions to diverse measurement problems".

Professor Monro has led a distinguished career in the field of optics and photonics and has received numerous accolades for her work. She was 2011 South Australian of the Year for South Australia.

This year, Professor Monro has also won the Academy's prestigious Pawsey Medal for outstanding research in physics by a scientist under the age of 40. She was last year involved in the Academy's Speaker Series, taking the message about the world-leading research at IPAS across Europe.

Professor Monro said she was thrilled to be elected a Fellow of the Academy.

"I'm particularly pleased because this acknowledges the quality of the work being done by our team in IPAS," Professor Monro said.

"Our team's work demonstrates both quality and impact across a wide range of technological and scientific boundaries, and I'm proud to be leading a team that is consistently producing such a high level of output."

Key research themes at IPAS include creating new devices for remote sensing, chemical, radiation, medical diagnostics and biological sensing, as well as the fabrication of new optical materials and structures.

Each of the new Fellows will be admitted to the Australian Academy of Science and present summaries of their work at the Academy's annual three-day celebration in Canberra in May.

Professor Monro is also a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering.

For more information about being elected a Fellow to the Australian Academy of Science, go here:


Contact Details

Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762