Queen's Birthday honours for University staff

Professor Rob Norman AO.

Professor Rob Norman AO.
Full Image (155.92K)

Tuesday, 11 June 2013

The University of Adelaide's Professor Rob Norman has been made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the Queen's Birthday honours for "distinguished service to medicine in the field of reproductive health through contributions as a clinician and researcher".

Rob Norman is Professor for Reproductive and Periconceptual Medicine and Director of the University's Robinson Institute.

His major research contributions have been in IVF and reproductive endocrinology, particularly in polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), the effect of lifestyle on reproductive outcomes, and periconception medicine.

He is also a Visiting Consultant Gynaecologist at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and a reproductive medicine specialist with Fertility SA.

He is currently President of ASPIRE, the Asia Pacific Initiative on Reproduction which is the region's pre-eminent society in reproduction with 3000 members.

"This is a richly deserved honour for one of Australia's most dedicated and talented medical researchers," says the University's Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Warren Bebbington.

"Professor Norman quite simply transforms lives. Through his specialty of reproductive medicine he leads a large, dedicated team that is committed to making a difference to the health outcomes of the smallest babies through to our most senior citizens.

"His humility and professionalism are hallmarks of his achievements, and this latest honour firmly cements him among the very best university research leaders today."

Queen's Birthday honours for University of Adelaide staff, former and affiliate staff, and graduates:

AC - Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Emeritus Professor James Crawford SC
(alumnus, former staff member)
For eminent service to the law through significant contributions to international and constitutional legal practice, reform and arbitration, and as a leading jurist, academic and author.

AO - Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Professor Chris Baggoley
(alumnus, former staff member)
For distinguished service to medicine, particularly in the area of emergency medicine as a clinician, to medical administration and public health care, and to education.

Professor Rob Norman
(Director, Robinson Institute and Professor for Reproductive and Periconceptual Medicine)
For distinguished service to medicine in the field of reproductive health through significant contributions as a researcher and clinician.

AM - Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Mr Colin Dunsford
(alumnus, member of University of Adelaide Council Finance Committee)
For significant service to the community of South Australia, and to the accounting profession.

Emeritus Professor Norman Etherington
(former staff member)
For significant service to education, particularly in the discipline of history, through contributions to heritage preservation, and to the community.

Professor Philip Thompson
(Head of Neurology, Royal Adelaide Hospital and Professor of Neurology)
For significant service to neurology, particularly in the field of Parkinson's disease and movement disorders.

OAM - Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division

Mr David Beaumont
(alumnus, former staff member)
For service to the community, particularly through heritage organisations.

Mr Phillip Campbell
(Chair, Mechanical Engineering Advisory Committee)
For service to engineering.

Mrs Claudia Cream
For service to the Chinese community of South Australia.

Mr Rob Croser
For service to the arts through contributions to amateur theatre as a director and mentor.

PSM - Public Service Medal

Dr David Caudrey
(alumnus, former member of staff)
For outstanding public service to the disability sector.

Professor Dorothy Keefe
(alumnus, Professor of Cancer Medicine)
For outstanding public service in the areas of public health, medical research and oncology.

Mr Greg Parker
For outstanding public service in the provision of legal and industrial advice.


Contact Details

Mr David Ellis
Email: david.ellis@adelaide.edu.au
Website: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/newsroom/
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762