Uni of Adelaide staff honoured by Academies

Monday, 30 November 2015

Two University of Adelaide academics have been elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of the Humanities, the highest honour for achievement in their fields in Australia.

Professor Amanda Nettelbeck and Dr Claire Roberts from the University’s School of Humanities were among 23 scholars elected at the Academy’s Annual General Meeting.

Professor Amanda Nettelbeck (English and Creative Writing) is a leading scholar in the field of colonial frontier history, as well as policing and criminal justice, including the prosecution of settler homicides of Aborigines.

Dr Claire Roberts (Art History) is a significant historian and curator of Chinese Art, of visual cultures, modernity and Chinese culture more generally.

President of the Academy Professor John Fitzgerald FAHA says their election is testament to the excellence and influence of their work.

“We’re delighted to welcome this impressive group of scholars to the Academy. Collectively they have made an outstanding contribution to our communities, to the nation and to the world,” he says.

This announcement follows the recent presentation of the 2016 Christopher Heyde Medal to Dr Luke Bennetts from the School of Mathematical Sciences.  The medal, announced by the Australian Academy of Science in their annual awards, recognises distinguished research in the mathematical sciences by researchers up to 10 years post PhD.

Dr Bennetts is an applied mathematician and lecturer who models how waves of various kinds (such as acoustic, electromagnetic or ocean surface waves) are affected by objects in their path. A major focus of his research is how ocean waves interact with ice floes in the polar seas, and how this can be factored into models of climate change.


Contact Details

Mr David Ellis
Email: david.ellis@adelaide.edu.au
Website: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/newsroom/
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762