Bishop and Wong to receive honorary doctorates

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop and Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs Senator Penny Wong are among nine eminent Australians being awarded honorary doctorates at the University of Adelaide in ceremonies over the next week-and-a-half.

They join 4750 graduates being awarded their degrees in Bonython Hall in 15 ceremonies from today, Wednesday 26 April, through to Saturday 6 May.

University of Adelaide Acting Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Mike Brooks says: “We are proud to be able to recognise these exceptional individuals for the outstanding contributions they have made in their fields. It is especially pleasing that six of the nine are graduates of the University of Adelaide. They are indeed wonderful ambassadors for this University.”

The honorary doctorate recipients are:

The Honourable Julie Bishop, MP, (11 am, Wednesday 3 May), Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs and Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party – Doctor of the University

The Honourable Dr Jane Lomax-Smith, AM, (2 pm, Thursday 4 May), former South Australian Government Minister and Adelaide Lord Mayor and current Chair of the South Australian Museum and strong advocate for Science, Engineering, Technology and Mathematics (STEM) education – Doctor of Science

The Honourable Amanda Vanstone (11 am, Tuesday 2 May), former Australian Government Minister and Senator for South Australia, and current political commentator and broadcaster – Doctor of the University

Senator, the Honourable Penny Wong (2 pm, Saturday 6 May), Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and, since 2002, Senator for South Australia – Doctor of the University

Professor Fiona Wood, FRACS, AM, (2 pm Friday 5 May), world renowned burns specialist and highly skilled plastic and reconstructive surgeon who has pioneered research and technology development in burns medicine – Doctor of the University

Professor Paul Zimmet, AO, (11 am, Friday 5 May), one of the most influential diabetes experts in the world whose research predicted and has charted the evolving global type 2 diabetes epidemic – Doctor of the University

Law, Industry and Higher Education
Professor John Finnis (11 am, Saturday 6 May), Australian legal scholar and philosopher specialising in the philosophy of law who has transformed the study of jurisprudence around the world – Doctor of Laws

Ms Jacqui McGill (11 am, Friday 28 April), Asset President Olympic Dam, BHP Billiton and champion of diversity and gender equity – Doctor of the University

Emeritus Professor James McWha, AO, (11 am, Thursday 4 May), former Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Adelaide (from 2002 to 2012) – Doctor of the University

Amanda Vanstone, Julie Bishop, Dr Jane Lomax-Smith, Professor Paul Zimmet, Professor John Finnis and Penny Wong are all graduates of the University of Adelaide.


Contact Details

Media Office
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814