Uni women's rugby 7s team helps make sporting history

Thursday, 24 August 2017

Uni women's rugby 7sThe University of Adelaide women’s rugby 7s team – the Romas – will help to make Australian sporting history tomorrow when they take part in the inaugural national competition, the Aon Uni 7s Series.

The University of Adelaide Romas will fly out of Adelaide this morning to prepare for their round 1 clash in Launceston against Griffith University, Macquarie University, and tournament hosts University of Tasmania.

The Romas have named Lauren Kildare and Zahn Anthony – both converts from other sporting codes – as co-captains for the series. The two were elected by the playing group to lead the program in 2017, which has seen a number of sporting talents combine on the rugby 7s field.

"The variety of sporting backgrounds has brought skills to our squad, allowing us to really learn from each other’s assets, which we’re hoping will be our point of difference," says co-captain Lauren Kildare, whose background is in Touch Football.

The Romas have welcomed 2016 Olympic gold medallist Evania Pelite to the squad for round 1, with fellow Olympic gold medallist Emma Tonegato, Australian Women's Sevens player Mahalia Murphy and Fijian international player Ebony Satala to join the team in round 2 in Sydney.

"Having the opportunity to test yourself against athletes who have played in the World Series is going to be an extraordinary experience," says co-captain Zahn Anthony, who has converted to rugby 7s from Australian Rules football.

Both captains have recognised the importance of the opportunity presented to them, and want to take it with both hands.

"We are going to focus on getting the little bits right and then really start to test ourselves as the tournament progresses," Kildare says.

"This program has been like no other. Not having to worry about personal finances for participation has allowed me to focus more time and energy on training and preparation,” Anthony says.

The University of Adelaide Romas will start their 2017 campaign on Friday 25 August at the following times (in AEST): vs. Griffith Uni (2.35pm), Macquarie Uni (4.15pm), UniTas (6.35pm).

At the completion of day 1, tournament standings will determine semi-final placings to take place on Saturday 26 August.

Matches will be streamed live and free on rugby.com.au’s website and Facebook.

The University of Adelaide Romas – Aon Uni 7s Series team (round 1):

1. Lucy Northcott
2. Zahn Anthony (c)
3. Eva Karpani
4. Chloe Hourn-Smith
5. Lauren Kildare (c)
6. Evania Pelite
7. Alice Gregory
8. Clair Alvino
9. Phoebe Linder Patton
10. Leah Phillips
11. Ellie Konopka
12. Rebekah Jones
13. Gemma Monaghan


Contact Details

James O'Keefe
Email: james.okeefe@adelaide.edu.au
Website: http://www.theblacks.com.au/rugby7s
Head Coach - University of Adelaide Women's Rugby Sevens
Adelaide University Sport
The University of Adelaide
Mobile: +61 (0)400 093 759

Mr David Ellis
Email: david.ellis@adelaide.edu.au
Website: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/newsroom/
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762