Outstanding university alumni to be honoured with awards

Friday, 24 November 2017

Political journalist, author and media personality Annabel Crabb, former Supreme Court Justice and lawyer, the Hon. Margaret Nyland, AM, and the President of the Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association, Dr Kali Hayward, will be among those honoured at the University of Adelaide’s Distinguished Alumni Awards event today.

The annual Distinguished Alumni Awards, which started in 1991, recognise graduates of the University of Adelaide whose accomplishments have had a significant impact on communities locally and globally.

Previous award recipients include: Natasha Stott Despoja, AM, the Hon. Julia Gillard, AC, South Australian television and radio personality Keith Conlon, OAM, and children’s author Colin Thiele, AC.

Nine awards will be presented at an event today at the National Wine Centre from 11.30am to 1.30pm.

Interim Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Mike Brooks, says the awards provide an opportunity for the University community to acknowledge and thank its most outstanding graduates for service to their industry and communities.

“Today’s award recipients have not only made their mark in their respective fields, but advanced them for the benefit of others,” Professor Brooks says.

“University of Adelaide Distinguished Alumni Award recipients serve as an inspiration to future generations of graduates to aim high, challenge the status quo, lead by example and be community minded.”

This year, award recipients are from a range of disciplines, including information technology, sport, law, agriculture, teaching, medicine and politics.

The Hon. Margaret Nyland will receive a Distinguished Alumni Award for her accomplishments as a judge, lawyer and commissioner. Ms Nyland was only the second woman to sit on the Supreme Court of South Australia; the first being her mentor and fellow alumnus, Dame Roma Mitchell.

Annabel Crabb, who has become a household name in Australia through television programs including Kitchen Cabinet (ABC), will receive the James McWha Award of Excellence. Named after the former Vice-Chancellor of the University, Professor James McWha, AO, this award is given to a leader in their profession who is an outstanding role model.

Indigenous doctor Kali Hayward will receive the inaugural Tirkapena Indigenous Alumni Award for her leadership in the community. Dr Hayward is a general practitioner for an Aboriginal medical service, a medical educator, and the President of the Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association, which encourages Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders to pursue a career in medicine.

Media are invited to attend today’s awards presentation.

Full list of recipients:

2017 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients

Dr John Beard, Director of the Department of Ageing and Life Course at the World Health Organization (WHO) in Geneva, Switzerland.
Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (1979)
In recognition of his dedication to the field of healthy ageing, including guiding many countries on their policy responses to population ageing.

Ms Moya Dodd, lawyer, former national football player with the Matildas (1986-1995), member of the Asian Football Confederation’s Executive Committee and the Football Federation Australia Board.
Bachelor of Laws (Honours) (1988)
In recognition of her service to women’s football, as a player and a fierce advocate for change to benefit the sport.

Mr Simon Hackett, information technology (IT) trailblazer, active investor in Australian technology companies and philanthropist.
Bachelor of Science (Mathematical Science) (1987)
In recognition of his contribution to advancing the IT industry, including involvement in bringing the internet to Australia in the late ′80s, and through his company Internode, launching Australia’s first ADSL2+ broadband service.

The Hon. Margaret Nyland AM, lawyer and former Supreme Court Justice
Bachelor of Laws (1964)
In recognition of her service to law, as a lawyer, judge, justice and commissioner, including leading the Royal Commission into child protection in South Australia (2014-2016).

Ms Léonie Ebert, a teacher and a union and peace activist committed to justice, equality and innovation in education.
Bachelor of Science (1968)
In recognition of Ms Ebert’s dedication to education, advocacy for women and Aboriginal education, and support of social justice.

Dr Anthony Lake AM, a dentist and forensic odontologist
Bachelor of Dental Surgery (1970)
In recognition of Dr Lake’s service to the dental industry, including his involvement in Disaster Victim Identification (DVI) for state, national and international incidents.

John Crosby, an innovative farmer and an active mentor for many aspiring producers, researchers and professionals in agribusiness.
Roseworthy Diploma in Agriculture (1971)
In recognition of his advocacy for farmers and the Australian farming industry.

2017 James McWha Award of Excellence recipient

Ms Annabel Crabb, a political journalist, author and media personality, Ms Crabb has been a journalist for major print publications in Australia and in London and has won a prestigious Walkley Award.
Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws (1997)
In recognition of excellence in her career, and being an outstanding role model for other graduates.

2017 Tirkapena Indigenous Alumni Award

Dr Kali Hayward, is a general practitioner for an Aboriginal medical service, a medical educator and the President of the Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association.
Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (2005)
In recognition of her achievements since graduation through which she has become a leader in the community.


Contact Details