Outstanding achievers awarded for science excellence

Students at the University of Adelaide's North Terrace campus

Four University of Adelaide researchers have received prestigious Tall Poppy Awards for outstanding scientific achievement.

The Tall Poppy Awards, an Australian Institute of Policy and Science initiative, are designed to recognise and celebrate Australian intellectual and scientific excellence and to encourage younger Australians to follow in the footsteps of outstanding achievers. The awards aim to build a more publicly engaged scientific leadership community in Australia. 

Tall Poppy award winners are selected for their commitment to sharing their research and passion for science with the broader community. 

The University of Adelaide’s 2023 South Australian Young Tall Poppy Award winners are: 

  • Alex Whittaker from the School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences: 
    Alex’s research is focused on science-based animal welfare policy development and the animal law-making process. As a result of this interest Alex founded and directs the Evidence Synthesis Initiative for Animal and Veterinary Sciences (ESIAVS). 

  • Chris Perrella from the School of Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences:  
    Liaising with industry and defence, Chris’s research has real-world impact through development of measurement devices for use outside the laboratory.  

  • Azmeraw Amare from the Adelaide Medical School: 
    Azmeraw researches fundamental questions about how genetics and the interaction between genetic and environmental factors regulate individuals’ risk to mental illness and response to pharmacological treatment. 

  • Laura Eadie from the Adelaide Medical School / SAHMRI: 
    Laura has spent more than ten years researching modes of resistance to chronic myeloid leukaemia drugs. 

The Tall Poppy Campaign is Australia's longest running award for excellence in science and science communication. Since 1998 it has awarded over 700 of Australia's best young scientists, in every state and territory, helping to promote and grow current science leaders, and the leaders of tomorrow. 

The 2023 South Australian Young Tall Poppy Award winners will receive their awards at a special ceremony taking place at the South Australian Museum in August. 

For more information and a full list of past winners visit: https://aips.net.au/tall-poppy-campaign/  

Tagged in news brief, tall poppies, young tall poppy