Honorary Doctorates celebrate outstanding legacies

The University of Adelaide will present Honorary Doctorates to agribusiness leader Dr Mark Allison, and theoretical physicist, Distinguished Professor Susan Scott during this week’s graduations ceremonies.

Sept 2023 Hon Docs Mark Allison

Dr Allison (centre) with Professor Høj AC and the Hon Catherine Branson AC KC outside Bonython Hall.

The Hon Catherine Branson AC KC, Chancellor of the University of Adelaide, will present the Honorary Doctorates in the University’s historic Bonython Hall.

“The University of Adelaide is honoured to recognise the substantial and inspiring achievements of Dr Mark Allison and Professor Susan Scott, who are both leaders in their respective fields,” said Professor Peter Høj AC, the University of Adelaide’s Vice-Chancellor and President, who will read the citations for each recipient.

“We know they will be an inspiration for our students who are celebrating their graduations this week.

“Many of our graduates will become the next generation of inspirational leaders and the University of Adelaide will proudly watch as they take the first steps on their exciting journeys.”

Dr Allison received his Honorary Doctorate today, Tuesday, 19 September, while Professor Scott will receive hers on Thursday, 21 September.

Dr Allison has a wealth of leadership experience spanning technical, manufacturing, supply and distribution roles, and has been a champion of Australian agriculture and agribusiness for over 40 years.

As the Managing Director and CEO of Elders, one of Australia’s oldest and largest agricultural companies, Dr Allison has a highly successful track record of strategic leadership, turning around complex businesses for wider impact and the benefit of the agricultural industry in Australia.

He has had a significant impact on the agribusiness sector in South Australia and nationally, both in the boardroom and at the farm gate. His leadership of many agricultural businesses has done much to support and strengthen the industry and the rural communities it serves.

Many of our graduates will become the next generation of inspirational leaders and the University of Adelaide will proudly watch as they take the first steps on their exciting journeys.Professor Peter Høj AC, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Adelaide
Hon doc Susan Scott

Professor Scott (centre) with the Hon Catherine Branson AC KC and Professor Høj AC outside Bonython Hall.

Professor Scott is Distinguished Professor of Theoretical Physics at the Australian National University.

Her significant contribution over three decades includes groundbreaking discoveries in general relativity and cosmology. She has played a leading role in the development of the field of gravitational wave science in Australia, helping to unlock one of the universe’s most complex mysteries.

Professor Scott was the first female physicist to be awarded the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science – Australia’s top prize for science – for her role in the ground-breaking detection of gravitational waves first proposed by Albert Einstein.

She was the first Australian to be awarded the prestigious European Academy of Sciences’ Blaise Pascal Medal, recognising her research in gravity being undertaken in Australia, by an Australian, on the global stage.

All of the University of Adelaide’s graduation ceremonies can be viewed online via livestream: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/live/

Tagged in featured story, graduations, bonython hall, honorary doctorate, mark allison