Vice-Chancellor and President

The University of Adelaide is excited to announce Professor Peter Høj AC as its new Vice-Chancellor and President.

"Professor Peter Høj is one of Australia’s most outstanding and highly respected leaders in higher education, and we are delighted to have him as our new Vice-Chancellor "Chancellor, the Hon. Catherine Branson AC QC.

    About our new Vice-Chancellor and President

    Professor Peter Hoj

    Professor Peter Høj AC

    Danish-born Professor Høj is a Fellow of Academies in Australia, the USA and Denmark, and has been awarded honorary doctorates from institutions including the University of Adelaide, University of South Australia, and University of Copenhagen.

    He comes to his new role at the University of Adelaide with more than 20 years’ senior leadership experience in higher education and research – as Vice-Chancellor at the University of Queensland (2012-2020), Vice-Chancellor of the University of South Australia (2007-2012), CEO of the Australian Research Council (ARC) (2004-2007), and Managing Director and CEO of the Australian Wine Research Institute Pty Ltd (1997-2004).

    Professor Høj was also Foundation Professor of Viticultural Science (1995-1997) and Professor of Oenology (1997-2004) at the University of Adelaide.

    A member of the Australian Government’s University Foreign Interference Taskforce, in 2019 Professor Høj was awarded the Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for “eminent service to higher education and to science, particularly to the commercialisation of research, and to policy development and reform”.

    In addition to the positions mentioned above, Professor Høj’s many commitments and achievements have included:

    • Co-Deputy Chair of the Australian Government’s Strengthened Export Controls Steering Group (2012-2016)
    • Member of the Australian Medical Research Advisory Board for the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) (2016-2020)
    • Board Member (Ministerial appointment) of Wine Australia (2018 – present)
    • Trustee of the Australian Cancer Research Foundation (2020 – present)
    • Member of the Australian Human Rights Commission Leadership Council on Cultural Diversity (2016-2020)
    • Member, Group of Eight (Go8) Board (2012-2020) and Chair, Group of Eight (2017)
    • Board Member of: Universities Australia (2009-2013); CSIRO (2011-2014); Business SA (2009-2012); and South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) (2011-2012), among many others.

    Read the full media release