The primary role of the Provost is to guide the academic culture and oversee academic management and performance of the University. The Provost is therefore responsible for the leadership and management of the Executive Deans of the five Faculties.

Second in seniority to the Vice-Chancellor and President, the Provost contributes to the overall leadership of the University working collaboratively as part of an energetic and collegial executive team to shape the University's mission and strategy implementation.
Key responsibilities:

  • Institutional leadership
  • Planning and analytics
  • Strategy and planning reviews
  • Acquisition and retention of senior academic talent
  • Academic performance standards
  • Target setting
  • Academic promotions
  • Oversight of the Institutional Engagement Priorities, the Top Talent Scheme, and the Colleges of Expertise
  • Load planning in relation to course offerings

Professor John Williams

Acting Provost and Executive Dean, Faculty of The Professions

Professor John Williams was appointed as Acting Provost in May 2020 a role he holds in conjunction with the position of Executive Dean of the Faculty of The Professions.

John Williams joined the University of Adelaide in 1997.  He holds a PhD in Law from the Australian National University, an Arts (Hons) (UTas) and LLB (UNSW). He is admitted as a solicitor in NSW. Professor Williams has held a number of appointments and fellowships including at the Menzies Research Centre, Kings College London (2002), ANU College of Law (2004-5) and a Harold White Fellow, National Library of Australia (2014).

Prior to his appointment in November 2018 as the Executive Dean of The Professions he was Pro Vice-Chancellor Research Operations and Dean of Graduate Studies.  Professor Williams has also held the role of Dean of the Adelaide Law School and Deputy Executive Dean of the Faculty of the Professions. He holds the Dame Roma Mitchell Chair of Law.

John is a member of a number of academic and government committees including Chair of the University’s Academic Board, the Council of The University of Adelaide, The National Archives Advisory Council of Australia, a former Vice-President of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law, and the Director of the Adelaide Festival of Ideas and formerly chaired the South Australian Fulbright 

Find out more